The art of communication (part 2/3)

in #dtube5 years ago


Hello my dear friends :)

Here is the second part of my mini-series about communication.
In this part, I will talk about three things that helped me to improve my communication and the way I express myself.

The first one is, TAKE RESPONSIBILITY for what you communicate.

What do I mean by that?
Well, simply put, you get what you give.

Let say, that I am angry with my partner Matija, (goddammit, he didn’t take the trash out again)
If I want to have a conversation with him while I am angry, I can’t expect anything good from that conversation. We will just start to argue. First about the trash, and then about everything else.
And that is not what I want.

So I have to take responsibility for what I bring to the conversation. And anger is not what I want. I don’t want to argue with him.
I want the trash to be taken out next time

And that leads us to the second part of this video

BEST COMMUNICATION IS CLEAR COMMUNICATION.

If you want to have clear communication, you have to know what you want from the conversation before you communicate.

Like I said from my example about our trash, I don’t want to provoke anger, I want to solve the problem.
So I would do it somehow like this.
I would go to Matija and tell him that I would like to find a solution to our trash situation. I would tell him, that trash has to be taken out once a week and then I would ask him if he has any suggestions, any solutions.
Then we would usually talk about it until we were both satisfied with solution.

If you know what you want from the conversation before you start it, then you can express yourself clearly. And clear communication is the most effective communication.

Ok, let’s go to the third part of this video

THE POWER OF QUESTION

As you can see in my example with Matija, I didn’t order him to take the trash out next time, or he will have to deal with my anger :)
I asked him if he has any suggestions on how to solve this problem.
That is how I opened the door for a productive conversation. I helped him to open up and tell me what he thinks about the problem. Why he didn’t take the trash out and why he doesn’t like to do that.

You see, if you want to have an effective conversation with someone, you have to find a way to help them to open up about the topic you would like to discuss.
And that is the power of the question.
People open up if you show interest in their opinion. And that is how you can make a good foundation for any conversation.

And when you ask a question, then you must listen to the answer. And not just words, but also to the energy behind words

And about that, I will talk in the third part of this mini-series about communication. I will teach you how to listen to the energy behind words.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87