Circle Jerking

in #dtube5 years ago


Seems like Circle Jerking is a big topic on the site right now. I think it is important to talk about this as it can affect so many.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is such a controversial subject right now and neither side will agree, no matter what I say.

Dr. Suess summed it up nicely - “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

!tip .20

Yay . . . A fellow Dr. Seuss fan!

It's as the book says . . . Everything Important I Learned in Kindergarten.

The things we should learn as children: be nice to everyone, give people the benefit of the doubt, don't act like a tool . . . these things still serve me well today, and have all along.

Yeah, we all have bad days, which is why it is also good to occasionally apologize and mean it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes!!!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @crescendoofpeace! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Runaway Train Of Love Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Sounds like @broncnutz advice.

Haha! It does sound like him, doesn't it? :)

!tip

🎁 Hi @willowwisp! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Runaway Train Of Love Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Lol of course! Well put.

I can honestly say I have never spent a dime on Steem. Every little bit I have on here was earned through providing content that I have to assume some people like. Otherwise I wouldn't have what little I have. I do follow several people and consume their content and vote on their content nearly every time. However, I will absolutely vote on posts from unknown users whenever I see something fresh and new. It's good to have friends and support them. But it's also good to get out there and make new friends and support them as well. Good points made here. It's complicated but it's the nature of the beast. I will just keep putting out my original content and will continue to vote for my blockchain "friends" and newbies alike.

Sounds bitlike how i operate but i don't have much time to catch up some newer people. Just those i happen to see in the new tab once a while.

Exactly as it should be!

OK as an example, you post a more or less good photo essay, I have been following you and I normally like your content, my vote is worth say $5.00 and I decide that your posts deserves a $5.00 vote, nothing wrong with that, I like the post I vote what I think it is worth, and it is just normal that I will vote for authors whose content I normally like. Where it gets out of hand and I think is bad is when I have you on my autovoter and it automatically upvotes anything you post even if it turns out to be, a shit post. And this is constantly happening, I sometimes take the time to see a post by one of these heavily voted "authors" shitty content most of the time but five minutes after it is posted that post is suddenly voted by 50 or 80 users and its reward goes up to ten dollars. That is what I consider circle jerking something getting upvotes just because it is on some auto bots list, and this is reciprocal. As for someone deciding to give a big dollar vote to a post he considers deserves it I see nothing wrong in that, after all we each have our own opinions about quality and I cannot say my opinion is better than yours so I can spend my votes however I want to, but I would want this to be done manually. This is why I think downvoting a post because it has to high a reward is kind of dumb.

I totally agree with manual voting and decent comments like yours here.

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Birth Of Mankind Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I agree with most of the points you've made.

To me, the term "circle jerking," in the context of the STEEM blockchain, really applies only to large whales who upvote only their own posts, and those of their whale friends, and ignore everything and everyone else.

That does nothing for the blockchain, and serves no purpose, other than to rape the reward pool. That I believe needs to stop.

As for autovoting, I'm all for it, as I follow a number of quality trails, such as @tribesteemup, @thealliance, @naturalmedicine, @poetsunited and others, whose members consistently make high quality posts, but which I simply don't have enough time to curate manually.

I've been here a while, it will be two years next month, and yes, I've made friends whose posts I nearly always upvote, as they nearly always upvote mine. Being human, it's easy to miss a few. But again, we're making real posts that require effort, not for example a single unattributed photo or meme with zero text, which is my go-to example of a worthless post.

I've followed your posts for well over a year, and generally upvote yours as well . . . because you're a damned good photographer, which is one of my lifelong interests. ;-)

My average post is 1,000 words or more, and I have a number that are well over 3,000 words. But then, I was a writer long before STEEM existed, and my whole point in coming here was to create and expand readership for my work.

The vast majority of my STEEM was earned, though I have also bought in small amounts here and there. I've never powered down a cent.

And still my vote is worth well under one cent.

I wish I loved New Steem as you do. For me, the jury is still out, and it seemed pretty self-serving on the part of the whales. We'll see how it does over time.

I do wish the witnesses would have given at least 1% if nothing else to show support for the hit the authors took.

Of course I oppose the zero effort post. That is just sad and pathetic and diminishes the author in my eyes.

I agree completely, on both points.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have not heard of this. At the level I am right now, I don't see any other way to get ahead! Its called "supporting your peeps" in my book. Does this mean PHC is a big group of circle jerkers? "Circle jerking" makes it sound nasty. Maybe at the upper levels it's just a way to round up a lot of money as you say, taking it out of availability for the rest of us, but I'm still for letting things be and play out the way they do naturally.
Any attempts to stop it will just hurt the smaller accounts. How would that help?
Thank for putting this together.

Whether it's bid-bots, or buying votes, or circle jerking, or what-have-you, the simple fact is that people will find a way to use the rules of any system to their own maximum benefit. That's what we do! Think of all the advances in the industrial revolution; many of them were designed by young workers who wanted to get paid a full day's work without putting in a full day's work. Did they cheat the system? Hell if I know. But things sure improved.

I really don't know why people get all persnickity about it. If you don't like it, don't do it. Lead by example. And don't sweat the small things.

Thanks for sharing!

!tip

I get it that code is law. Yes we need to change the rules to incentivise the behavior we desire. When I started here there were no bid bots as delegations were not in the code.

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Gambrinus: Beer Stories On A Friday Night Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

The link does not get me there. I get a page saying , " There's nothing here yet. Build Something".
Another interesting subject I would like to hear what you have to say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94