IS THE CURATION SYSTEM BROKEN?

in #dtube5 years ago


Made this video before my interview with @dmilliz. It is 2-3 days ago. My position about this issue is more severe now but i reserve my comments for now

Before anyone calls me an entitled p***k, let me just say that dtube can keep their upvote if anything I say here is not valid. So let's proceed. And, let me add, I'm seriously disappointed at does who's responses to this issues has been that it's all about hate, especially when they're not the parties that has been addressed, that low. Have a mind of your own.

Now, Is the curation process fair enough? Chances are if you benefit more from it as I have then your opinion might be biased but share them anyways. However, if you feel cheated then please tell us how and why? This is an open floor for people willing to have honest conversations. I don't ask for an upvote buy a resteem would do. Let's get dtubers talking.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

All I can say is I’d love to know how the curation works. I’m really puzzled about this and I understand the concern of the community. I consider myself lucky to to get upvotes. I really use to think it was the time of day but it seems deeper than that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Milliz all I can say to ya is be careful. A lot is not as it appears.

Posted using Partiko Android

he just did a tweet
yes that fact that others are saying "Stop being entitled " is wrong and says something
its just everyone is getting tossed under the table
voices are closed
freedom of speech out the windwo

It is a group of people curating your videos, you must appeal to a wide variety of people. If someone on the dtube team likes your video, they will upvote you. The vote weight is dependent upon the opinion of the upvoter. If you make valuable content to that individual it will be a higher vote weight.

Fair enough. But isn't that too much power in a few hands? What are the measures put in place to mitigate cases of favoritism which some have alleged to be this case?

Posted using Partiko Android

What do you mean too much power in the hands of few? You mean people that were, lets say hired, by the creator of dtube to handle curation. What is wrong with a business owner hiring employees to handle curation for his steemit account? It could be 0 dtube upvotes.

Also I would imagine there are rules to curation. Like no favoritism. However if someone is consistently is putting out quality, valuable content that isn't always the same talking head vlog, then they deserve consistent upvotes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Zero upvotes would mean no platform, you can ask the team at musing how they are doing without their delegation. Why do always I get this tune from most people I speak to about on this issue? If as a business owner you employ ineffective people (not to say the curators are ineffective) to manage your business what would the outcome be?

P.s I'm not concerned about the curators but the system. If we have a proper check and balance, and a more consensus approach amongst the curators probably things might be better. It's great for me, I can care less but I'm trying to hold the middle ground here and probably play the devil's advocate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would argue majority content here is plagiarism and gaming the system for upvotes.

Valid point. Why do you think people post every day? Why do you think I post every day? Everyone is after the upvotes. We can delay this and the frequency of posts by an individual if we implement the things I suggested. But dtube needs traffic I suppose. If dtube curates at 100 percent every 24 hours I'm certain many people will up their game, including myself. Even though I can't afford a good camera now I will certainly invest in one. And if there are guidelines, say a thousand view and meaning comments which will guarantee you a nomination for an upvote, definitely, there will be more effort put into making videos. There are millions of people posting on YouTube. A significant number of them don't earn, a significant number produce zero quality but earn because they ride on trends. We should understand the vlogging sphere better. Dtube can invest more in doing better research and have quality individual that's are innovative working behind the scene. It took them all this drama to make a post today.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see a lot of accusation, not much solution. View count is not possible. You said it, millions of people create content on youtube and millions of them make no money. I would love to see the percentage of actual content creators (not plagiarizers) who ear 0 upvotes and money on dtube. They don't exist. Everyone who actually makes new relevant content gets upvotes. Dtube does not upvote 100%'s.

I would love to see the percentage of actual content creators (not plagiarizers) who ear 0 upvotes and money on dtube. They don't exist. Everyone who actually makes new relevant content gets upvotes. Dtube does not upvote 100%'s.

The argument has been that some videos get higher upvotes for mediocre content. This said video of mine got a $6. You might check around and find one of those bedroom videos you talked about getting as high as $10. I really don't care about these things though i notice them. Asides video quality and probably audio quality i think i can match any dtuber here when it comes to quality. Maybe @theycallmedan will beat me to it. The point is if we are all being honest we will see there are lapses. Personally I'm good. I get 2-3 upvotes from dtube weekly. At least that covers my data expense. I wishedII earned more probablyII will get a decent camera for my vlogs but they don't owe me anything. ButII fear they might fall like musing if they don't review things and make some adjustments

I would also argue every single business that is a huge success has employees. Unless you are talking about a freelancer, or contractor. So basically, a business grows to a size, they must hire employees to handle the demand. Well, I wouldn't say the dtube curators are ineffective (even if in parenthesis you say you aren't saying that) because you are playing "devils advocate." That would be like me saying, "Man I think team X sucks" (not to say the the individual players are terrible) but what happens when you hire a team of professional athletes and they don't win every game?

Well, I wouldn't say the dtube curators are ineffective (even if in parenthesis you say you aren't saying that) because you are playing "devil's advocate." That would be like me saying, "Man I think team X sucks" (not to say the individual players are terrible)

Well, you can read other meanings to my statement. It is open for debate.

but what happens when you hire a team of professional athletes and they don't win every game?

Employ another. It happens every time in football. If the coach can not find a way around the team's poor performance, a new one is hired to do that job

Posted using Partiko Android

Also 0 upvotes doesn't mean 0 platform. The platform will still be available for people to use. They just wouldn't game the system to get upvotes from the dtube account. There are a lot of steemians who are vested willing to upvote video they appreciate.

Like the example i gave--musing. Its still a functioning app on the steem blockchain with a few active persons. But currently it cannot match the patronage of dapps like dtube and steemmonsters? Why? Two months ago it was one of the top apps on steem. This goes to show the importance of upvotes in the ecosystem. We do not run attention economy but a reward economy. If people don't get rewarded they bail out. No loyalty or whatsoever.

There are a lot of steemians who are vested willing to upvote video they appreciate.

Things will never be the same. But if you doubt, probably if you know anyone at dtube headquarters then tell them to try out this little experiment. 95 per cent of dtubers aren't vloggers. They are here for the upvotes and honestly there is nothing wrong with that. I never knew i had a passion for vlogging until those upvotes started coming (am i allowed a little humor here?)

Posted using Partiko Android

Since this is a subjective issue and it's based on curators discretion, I want to believe quality is a subjective issue. How it works in more centralized system like YouTube is that the engagement determines what gets to the top. Personally, it's not quality if no one is interacting with the material no matter how much effort is put into it. The consumer of the material has the final say. However we don't have such a system in place. My suggestion: implement a view count, weigh the quality of engagement on that material before curating. This might even stop the trash load of content people pump into the system. But then again we can not afford that because we need this platform to be active since we do not have the numbers

Posted using Partiko Android

I think there are reasons for not having a view count. Also the decentralized nature of dtube doesnt allow that, I think. I think that is a good idea tho, wait x amount of time to accumulate upvotes then the team votes. However, majority of people are thankful to get upvotes when they do. Lots just post for the love of it. There are plenty of things that could change, we sure could use more quality content creators here. Too many people talk for 5 minutes in their bedrooms and expect upvotes for it. If anything people should ignore dtube and organically grow their audience by networking.

Posted using Partiko Android

Too many people talk for 5 minutes in their bedrooms and expect upvotes for it.

I have seen a one-minute video about nothing. Even 10-20 mins about nothing. Faux motivator, faux crypto experts. But at the end of the day, the viewers should have they say. The first time I watched Nicki's anaconda video I thought it was total trash but it ended up being one of the most watched videos that year. Like I said, quality is relative.

I'm glad we could have a decent conversation without any temper tantrums. Show maturity.

Posted using Partiko Android

For sure lol. I will have to look into the musing model, I am not familiar with that. Nor am I familiar with the video you are talking about. It seems like over the past few weeks a lot of different accounts have been getting upvoted, I suggest looking at their voting power. Then once you have seen that look at the content coming out. They upvote almost everyone who is not plagiarizing. Vote power doesn't go above 25% from what I have seen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe i should. At the end I'm as passionate about steem as everyone here who puts time and effort. This types of dialogues are necessary. We disagree to agree and then find a middle ground. Silence escalated the whole issue. I'm glad to see dtube posting again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think a system similar to @steeve which ranks liked posts differently that upvotes and then lets AI choose which gets upvotes based on some of thr factors they have created that tends to be oriented towards the community preferring the posts. I have not seen it in action but it has sounded interesting to explore further.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well I'm not into Dtube so no opinion from me. Funny enough they voted your previous video interview with dmillz so I believe there is a pattern so its not racism.

You've always talked about expectations and how to handle it but maybe that's the problem here.

But imagine if you posted this before the interview video you will think they upvoted because of this video so God knows why u didn't upload it before now.

Congrat on your 90 days 500SP win from @nathanmars. You said you've got all the SP you need but you still winning. Fourth cliché...

I did not ask for the delegation. I was rewarded for my work in the campaign. The fact that I have all the steem I need doesn't mean I can't have more. Two different things. Basically, I'm being rewarded for my passion I think

Posted using Partiko Android

Of course I understand. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Seriously some people take their time to create great content and curation don't go great as well. Some newbies go through this platform this way. Everyone needs support and good pat and that should not be a debate about entitlement and privilege...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64