[EP116] - Steem is unsustainable.... without friendship.

in #dtube6 years ago


Hi everyone!
Hope you're all well!

I've been on Steem for over a year now, and I log into the various apps every day. I do so because I love it. There's people on this blockchain that I really like. I enjoy their content, I enjoy their interaction... and before finding Steem I was pretty active on Instagram.. and I've honestly barely logged on.

If you're just chasing upvotes... whether it be from a certain app, or from a whale that has you on autovote, you're missing the point. Steem is powerful because of it's community. The Steem token only has value because of the community, because people want to read or view and interact with people they like and/or admire.

My advice to anyone new to the platform... or to anyone that just is feeling a bit burnt out... find your people. Don't worry about upvotes, they're honestly not that important. Find the people that you enjoy interacting with, and then you'll enjoy the true value of Steem.

Traditional social media is very good at keeping people in silos. You only really get to see content that you already enjoy. It makes sense in theory... give the people what they want, but what happens is that people never get to interact with anyone else that will expand their world view. Steem absolutely gives us this opportunity; it's an incredible resource and I hope you plan to take full advantage.

Thanks for watching!




Check out my more detailed post on my blogging account How to train for Ninja Warrior or my website Australian Ninja Warrior


Join the @dtubefitness community today! Everyone is incredibly supportive and extremely generous with their knowledge.

Join the @dtubefitness curation trail so that you too can get regular upvotes and support on your fitness journey:


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I really like your philosophy. Engagement is the key. Finding new people, investing in their growth, and supporting others is important. If you are interested, my other account is @heyhaveyamet. That accout puts out a daily post of the real introduction posts so you do not have to sort through all the spam and mistagged posts.

I have worked really hard at growing our @xcountytravelers account and the curation HHYM account, but this one I decided I was going to grow only by engagement and interaction. As you can see, I don't do as much as I could, but the goal is not to get huge just chill out and have a little fun.

Thanks for sharing!
Ren

Oh nice... I used to run an account called @thefreshfive, and that was a lot of work... so what you're doing is absolutely amazing! Great work!

What a great way for newbies to be introduced to the platform!

So what caused you to stop doing the account?

I know I was getting tired of searching through the muck and mire in the introduceyourself tagged posts so I assumed others were as well. Me having the superpower of taking chaos and putting order to it causes me to not be able to leave it; therefore, it HAD to be done. haha
Ren

Hahaha, that is not a super power that I have! Well done you!

Honestly, it was because I'd introduce these awesome new people to the blockchain, I was excited and made lots of new friends... but then kept noticing that all these new exciting people would do a couple of posts and drop off without a trace. It just kind of felt like I was spinning my wheels...

I felt kind of bad for leaving it, but hopefully @steemonboarding can help guide new Steemians through a proper induction.

Yeah, we had an issue today where someone thought Steem was broken because the comments didnt work. Pulled her into the classroom and helped explain it to her. She said she was doing like on everything then she couldnt do any commenting and she was so confused. I was glad we were there to here help. We were able to help her find a group that would help her. They knew the posts i did and welcomed away. So there is no quiting today.

Great post...Some people might need to watch this as their induction video when first joining steem.

Ha! Thanks man!
If that was the case I'd try and make it way more polished. It still annoys me how much I say 'ah' and stuff... but talking to the camera still freaks me a bit.

I really did make it for the people who get burnt out chasing whale or Dapp votes... but I do think it's something that people still don't really understand... Steem is a social media platform with an incentive to interact... but the social part of it is still crazy important.

Ohhh damn... So I am fucked... I am an anti social bastard 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! No one will believe that in a million, trillion, kabillion years! You're not anti-social, you're high energy... you go, you make everything amazing in a firecracker Sergio explosion and then you're done.

Eheheh like they say "do it for the vine" lolol just joking. Yeah I am this person. But also I am very shy and introvert. And my brain might or not have a big unbalance 🤔 too afraid to go to the doctor to check it out. I have no middle term. I am that You describe or I am under the covers just thinking about ending my life (and I don't day this lightly or as a joke) but I guess if I learned how to live and control this for 31 years I can do it for as long as I am here. I am just a mess of a person and I am okay with it lolol

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm actually very similar... I think I'm mostly introverted but with moments of extravertedness. Given the choice to stay alone or go to a party... I'd always choose to stay alone, but I normally have a good time at the party... I'm also super exhausted afterwards though.

I've actually had quite a few friends with a similar situation to you... big highs, low lows and no middle ground. They did get it checked out, were on some medicine for a while to get the chemicals right, and are now much happier. I think this whole area has improved so so so much in the last 10 years... so if you go to the doctor and it's nothing.. no problem, but if they find an imbalance then they can treat it and you might feel good about it.

It's hard though, I never want to go to the doctors for anything, I don't super trust them... but really, they just want to help.

Not sure how open your close friends are... but chances are you've got a friend going through the exact same thing right now... just no one talks about it.

I am lucky to have good and open minded friends. Some of them with similar situations. Some had therapy. Some had actually chemical imbalances. But to be honest I have lived too long with pain and unhappiness in my life that I don't even think I want to be "happy"

I guess I am just the weirdo mellow depressed unbalanced type of guy. And that's how I'm happy eheheh

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, well, as long as you can have downtime, then I'm sure you're all good. I honestly start to get really freaked if I can't get any alone time... but if I do, I'm all good.

Keep Sergio Weird!

Wait, i see you everywhere! I cant believe you are anti social. Haha
Ren

Eheh all illusion. I love to be closed inside my room. Doors closed. Lights off. Planning my world take over lolol

Yeah I am bubbly and out outgoing. But I am an introvert and I am actually very shy and love to keep it to myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Me as well. Only time I leave the house is to let the dog out and go into town for groceries. haha

To be honest... I think introverts tend to make really good content. Extroverts are too busy going out to sit down and do all the background technical stuff to make videos, etc.

Hi @ninjavideo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.383 which ranks you at #7477 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 7464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58