You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiny House DC system Overview

in #dtube7 years ago

That's great that your setting up a solar battery system for the tinny house.

It is pretty amazing what you can run these days... many of the devices they are making actually consume very small amounts of power. It's only things like hair dryers, microwaves, electric heaters, some refrigerators, etc. that actually require high amounts of power... There's so many ways around high energy usage devices so why not set up a solar system!?

I'm working on building my own solar array right now and will be creating some video content about the project once I have everything organized here on Steemif a bit better so stay posted about that! :)

Sort:  

I'll definitely be looking for it.

As for devices I was looking for an RV TV and blue ray player and they were super expensive. I figured I would take a look at Best Buy. I ended up finding a TV and blue ray player that both had 12v wall adaptors but they weren't marketed as for RV's or off-grid so they were less then half the price.

Most electrical devices run on DC power already it's just that the inverter is usually hidden inside the device.

Really? I had no idea that the devices these days were running on DC power with a built in inverter... but it does make sense from a power consumption angle. DC is far more efficient than AC right?

So are you saying that it might be possible to bypass the inverter on many common place electronics?

Pretty much any appliance that has a computer chip or circuit board will be doing some sort of conversion to DC power. I think there are ways to safely bypass the AC altogether but I am still looking into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47