OPEN MIC-Funny, funky didge-beatbox, slide - LUCKY MAN STORY - naTHAN Kaye - now on dTube

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)



Hilarious story about an Aussie in San Fran, funky didge beatbox, lapsteel slide, 1-man band - Lucky Man Story - naTHAN Kaye - (entry for Steemit Open Mic week 74). ORIGINAL SONG

AN UNCONVENTIONAL AUSSIE IN THE USA - TRUE STORY:

I wrote this after a mega 2 month tour of UK and Ireland where I ended up in the USA on a crazy road trip to Burning Man Festival via Las Vegas and the Nevada Desert!

THE BACK STORY PRE-AMBLE:

I've always been a storyteller.
That's why I became a film & TV actor and also why I became a musician.
Music is a form of storytelling, even when there are no lyrics.
But the depth of storytelling got elevated another notch when I was in Ireland.
You see, before I got to the States, I had finished playing at a festival in the South East of Ireland and after the fest had ended and everyone left, there was about 40 of us huddled around a huge fire sharing songs and stories.

The Irish have this incredible tradition of story songs.
That is, songs that start out more like an incredible actor's monologue, but then they literally break into chorus (all together) at key moments, returning back to the story, then back to the chorus... (seriously an incredible cultural tradition that I could rave on for hours about)
This was revelationary to me!

I then heard a few trad bluesman play in the USA who also had a similar style of storytelling songs. (mind blown!)
So as I was experiencing my journeys through the USA, I wrote this song of this hilarious experience I had and I employed this incredible story-song type format that is traditional in Irish culture and African-American blues culture.

Ok, so Even though it's a bit different to the normal song entry, I really do hope you enjoy and perhaps get transported into viscerally experiencing what transpires in the story!!!
AND IT IS ALL TRUE!

As with my previous performances, nothing is looped or pre-recorded in this one-man band performance. I am simultaneously playing the
"Violap" Lapsteel Slide guitar (co-designed by Ben Harper),
Slide-Didge (modern adaptation of the traditional Aboriginal wind instrument known most commonly as didgeridoo),
vocals and
electronic foot drums (homemade from wet-suit, plywood, guitar cables, and contact mics into a drum module).

So dear friend reading this, I do hope you enjoy this performance!

Thanks so much for listening.

If you felt the vibe of this performance, please do upvote, resteem, follow @nathankaye and comment. I'd really love to hear from you.

© & ℗ Nathan Kaye February 2018. All rights reserved.
Lucky Man Story songwriting copyright is © & ℗ Nathan Kaye 2009. All rights reserved.


I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wooooaahh!!! Amazing talent. How many years of practice did it take you to be able to coordinate all of that????

Hey, thanks heaps @juxtamusic!
Many years of passionate obsession with music, sound creation, performance and storytelling culminated into this one-man band madness!

I'm stoked that you enjoyed it!

Bless ups and good vibes!
👍🏾🤙🙏🏽

You are an inspiration! Aspiring musicians need to see what you do to show what dedication to one's art can bring.

As a frontman in my band I understand that it takes a certain personality to be able to perform in front of an audience and not everyone would feel comfortable doing so but that quality of the music always comes first and that shines through too.

Looking forward to more!

Now I enjoyed the laughter.
But Mehn... how did you do that?
You'd so much fun...

Thanks so much @awesomeabasiono!
I'm happy that you had a good laugh and enjoyed the video!
How did I do that? Great question!
But you answered it with your last statement! I had so much fun! I followed my bliss and just did what makes me happy! Rinse and repeat, until something creative is built!
Keep shining!
🌟🤙🎼🙏🏽

Love the storytelling story. Those Irish were telling stories for centuries now and with all the drinking they do they have some really good stories to tell.

That’s right @luzcypher! Storytelling for centuries over mugs of mead, which blended stories into song. Just a beautifully rich culture of music and narrative that, for the most part, they haven’t lost connection with.
And the first time I toured Ireland I landed on a Tuesday, which happens to be their trad night. Every pub has musicians pull down instruments from the wall and acoustically play trad Irish music just like they have for centuries. Just amazing!

Happy to have a voice of the Open Mic on the BOOMBOX tag

Kewl! Yeah! :)

Got you this time around, Keep up the great work! Have a few friends in Australia Id love to visit later in the year, Ill keep in touch, maybe can catch you doing a performance if I head out there!

Thanks mate!
Sweet! Where abouts in Australia are you planning to visit? (it's a huge country!)
Yeah, drop me a line when you're coming! You're gonna love it!
:)

Thoroughbred musicians! Great guy and great sound!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52