Sort:  

It's gonna be huge. Won't be long before steemit is in classrooms as the online message boards and digital communications. Basically as a currency for any sort of digital interaction which earns reputation.

Will undoubtedly be dozens of variations, but Steemit is sprinting out to an early lead and is already a $1 Billion ecosystem. Pretty incredible.

What about privacy?

I have heard of some variations but I haven't investigated. I think the competitors are very small and limited.

SafeX will be implementing a privacy coin based on cryptonight, that's one to watch. Monero and a lot of the other cryptonight coins are very centralized from what I've seen. They are easy to get via minergate though, even regular computers will be able to get a non-trivial amount if they set up an account with them.

I've actually come across several interesting privacy coins as I'm doing some research on Crypto-Bridge. Will be discussing those in the near future along with the BCO token. Some interesting stuff over there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56608.36
ETH 2976.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15