fog

in #dtube5 years ago


Finally the weather calmed down and after 2 weeks with no paycheck, we got to fish today. My day did not start out very well. I put my boat overboard and started the engine. As soon as I gave it gas it died. I cranked on it for about 40 mins and was really getting pissed at it not starting. I thought maybe I flooded it, so let it sit a while and it still would not start. I said 'F' it and pulled the choke out and left it out and went to cranking the shit out of it. The crazy thing started and ran fine the rest of the day. After finding my way across the river in thick fog I ended up south of were I wanted to be but saw fish and anchored there. I was not there 5 minutes and caught a double, things were looking better. I sat there for almost an hour and never caught another one. I pulled my anchor and went north and one skipped off my boat so I anchored there and ended up catching 23 there. I weighed up 38 pounds. Which is a good days pay. My husband went south and caught 3 head. He is not in a good mood. Maybe he will catch tomorrow. I hope he does. Boy do I hope so. Anyway, it looks like we are going to have good weather all week.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's tough when one's paycheck is so dependent on the weather. Good luck tomorrow!

@scribblingramma yes, being a fisherman you learn to save for the rainy days, which there are many. My husband and I have never bought anything on credit not even a vehicle we save for it then buy because we never know how much or how little we are going to make.

I was pondering new laptops at a big box electronics store, and the clerk ever so helpfully suggested a credit card application. I declined. I don't like spending money I don't have yet and being on the hook for a monthly payment in an uncertain world either.

@jacobtothe I understand, If I can not afford to pay cash then I do not want it. even in health issues, we do not have health ins, and I needed cataract surgery we had to save up the cash which was pricey but I had to have it done.

I, too, try to avoid payments, although I am currently making payments on a vehicle. And, of course, the mortgage. There are those who claim even that can be avoided, but that remains a mystery to me, unless one just rents.

@scribblingramma we are one of the lucky ones, our home is paid for, our kids are grown and out of the house and we have no debt. But still have to work our tails off to pay monthly bills, lights, cable. phone and insurance on house and vehicles.

Right. And then there are the appliances that suddenly die, cars that need repairs....always something!

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95