DTube My Initial Impressions & What the Heck is it?

in #dtube7 years ago


Hey guys, so a couple of you had mentioned DTube to me and said to check it out so I finally got around to it. DTube is a "sorta kinda not really" decentralized video site similar to Youtube.

That's actually one minor criticism I heard which was first off "normies" I guess non tech people don't really care about decentralized, and secondly it's not really feasible to do. Both the creator himself as well as another Youtuber @castledoes and @thecastle on Steemit say that a blockchain isn't really meant to host big video files.

Overall I think it's a really cool site and a really cool concept but the one part I kind of have a hard time wrapping my head around, and maybe you guys can educate me, is why would I use DTube as opposed to just posting directly on Steemit itself?

That was something I wrestled with when I first tried Steepshot and eventually quit using it because I just didn't see a point and it would goof up my tags and make me go back to Steemit to put in my tags so I figured if I have to use 2 sites to make Steepshot work why not just skip it and use Steemit.

I do like DTube much better than Steepshop, I dig that it's a bit less prone to have a central authority make rules but at the end of the day that may be a necessity as currently it looks like there's some Game of Thrones full episodes posted on there. What happens if HBO tries to go after the creator? Can the content be taken down. Even worse what if someone posted something worse?

Overall I think it's a well built interface and kind of a cool site. It's very young so could really grow and add features. I do think at some point there will be a need for some type of censorship if for nothing else than you can't post movies and television shows. Really at the end of the day the content should be unique anyways.


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37