Sort:  

Perhaps one day, I will put my son in guitar lessons. You could always put it on the wall and take it down and play it:)

I'm fixing it up for my grandchildren as I said in the video. Instruments are meant to be played :-)

Yes, but it could hang out on the wall when not in use. You get the best of both worlds.

Of course lol now why didn't I think of that? A woman's eye see's these things. 👍😋

Looks like a classical guitar to me... I've just bought a 3/4 size classical guitar and it has identical tuners to this. What about that large rosette? Is that a decal or is it an actual inlaid rosette? I love guitars of this size... Sounds like a fun project fixing it up!

Yeah it's a bit mysterious. It always had steel strings and there is no radius on the fretboard so it has the fretboard of a classical guitar?

I've discovered a lot about this Kay guitar firm.

What guitar did you get?

What about that large rosette? Is that a decal or is it an actual inlaid rosette?

Are you referring to the detail around the sound hole?

People put steel strings on a lot of classical guitars and they turn up in second-hand shops and so forth. It's not supposed to be done because of added tension on the neck, but yours has survived this well if it is indeed the case. The way the strings are attached at the bottom of the guitar also looks like it was meant for classical not steel strings. Yes, I was asking about the detail around the sound hole. The one I bought is just a student guitar, and it's the same size as yours I believe. This is what I purchased: https://www.cordobaguitars.com/guitars/cadete/

That's a stunning guitar Keith. I'm sure it will give you untold joy to play.
Yeah this one that I have is turning out to be quite interesting. It has always had steel strings but I'm going to try it with nylon just to see what it sounds like.
It needs a bit of tlc but it's a survivor and deserves a bit of love. 👍🎸

It's very interesting... that 'fret zero' thing is a new one on me! By the way, what's the width of the fretboard at the nut? Classical guitars are typically wider than steel-string guitars.

One and three quarter inches or 45 mm at the nut.
It is great for finger picking.

As you said, that's made for steel strings then. Even my little student classical guitar is 1.9" at the nut and full-size classical guitars are 2 inches and over... What a wonderfully odd little guitar you have there! :-)

It plays like a dream now. I've done all the repairs and what not. I've been playing all day lol
My videos are a little behind in the process. I'm still editing hours of work that went into renovating this little oddity. :-)

I look forward to seeing how it all goes.

It's been quite interesting to research this guitar. Some amazing things came up in the process. Watch this space. 👍🎸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08