Going back to college for a computer science degree! Second Bachelor's Pros and Cons

in #dtube7 years ago


Going back to college for a computer science degree! Second Bachelor's

I've been contemplating going back to college for quite sometime now, I think I'm finally going to make the move.

What are your thoughts on this subject?

Any feedback is appreciated,Thank you!

MUSIC BY:
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/xTheDeli
BandCamp: http://thedeli.bandcamp.com/
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/the-deli
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheDeli23


Dreamwave // STAY UPDATED FOR MORE MUSIC

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/dreamvvave/
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/dreamvvave

the deli 532 pm INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/dreamwave_l...

===================ABOUT THIS CHANNEL==================

Welcome to midnightCode, first of, if you are reading this I want to give you a big THANKS for checking out my channel and wanting to know more about what this is all about.

Basically this channel is mainly geared towards iOS developing in its early days (or so I plan), then where ever life takes me, this channel will follow me there.

I have recently started learning iOS developing with the Swift programming language and I welcome viewers to come along this journey and witness the transformation from beginner to PRO!

I have some App ideas I've been wanting to develop for quite some time now, and I finally going after it!

As far as my background in programming, I don't have any formal experience. I did some work over at freecodecamp.org (up to the advanced JavsScript section, didn't finish), learned some HTML, CSS and JavaScript but as soon as I realized I didn't enjoy web developing and was more interested in iPhone apps, I shifted gears over to Swift!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

If you already have a BS, I would recommend just self study and hands on training and maybe some night courses at your local Community College... If you do go back, make sure you know exactly what part of computer science you want to be involved in or you will hate it. Also make sure you get in with your adviser immediately and plot your courses out for the entire 4 years or they will make you take classes you don't want to fill in the spaces... And know who you are going to work with and start building that relationship while in college...

Community college is definitely something I'm considering as well, just because the application process is so much easier and also its way cheaper. You are right though, if I end up going back i'm going in with a plan. I really want to work with AI and ML, and hoping to join a start up rather than a coorp, but who knows where I might end up at. Thanks for your advice!

One other thing that is a good practice I have seen, Is to start at community college for 2 years or so and finish at the one you want for the last two. Takes a little more planning and forethought, but it will save you a lot of money, get you the degree from the school you want, and the change of scenery can be nice for some people... I suggested that my wife's oldest son do this but he opted to go to Portland State instead, and he dropped out after the first year because of costs....and boredom as I already discussed.

yeah that actually makes a lot of sense, do you know if I would I still have to take all the lower division classes again ? even tho I already have a B.S.? or can I jump into the 101 com sci and math classes as soon as I start?

that is the issue, You would pretty much need to maintain contact with both schools from the start, and plan this out in advance to do it successfully without wasting time or losing credits. But it can be done if you are diligent...But yah, if you just do it alone and try to transfer, you are gonna lose credits and have to retake classes I'm sure...

oh ok, I see the issue. Well, I have a call scheduled this week with the school of mt choice so I am going to try and get the most information as possible. Thanks for all your insight!

Congratulations @midnightcode, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3145 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $758.70. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

It depends what you want to learn. If you are excited about new techs like building apps and stuff (like your previous videos), it's probably best to learn that on your own. However if you really want knowledge and learn from people with experience and who solved problems when there was memory limits and slow computational speed, it will help a lot in the future. Also Math

yeah any programming I already plan on teaching myself no matter what, but like you said I am mainly going back for the knowledge and being around professionals that have contributed to the field. Surprisingly, I am also looking forward to the math haha thanks for your input!

You should do it. I've made my mind up recently that i have to go back for something I really want to do. I'm also encouraging my fiancee to go for that because he's so excited to gain any knowledge about developing and programming.

"you should do it" haha I LOVE THAT! yeah the more and more I learn programming the more I want to learn about computers in general, but I want to learn in a class setting. Best of luck to you and your fiancee! Thanks for the support!

BA studies gives only basic knowledge, about math and computer science, if you want to learn programming you should focus on this because computer science in 90% is not about programming :) programming is only the tool which uses computer science.

Yeah I plan on teaching my self programming already, that's already something I am doing no matter what. But what I really want learn more about is computer science which is the reason I want to go back. With newer technology being developed every day I want to have the basics covered and then branch out from there. Thanks for your input, really means a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46