Did I Just KILL MY PEACH TREE? - And Jaimie Makes FIRE ROASTED SALSA!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


VIMEO VERSION (in case Dtube doesn't load)

Please tell me I didn't just kill my peach tree? Maybe you know something about trees and healthy care for them. In an attempt to protect my peach tree, I may have inadvertently damaged it. How much so is still to be seen. We will often get folks asking about what fruit trees to plant. The answer will be different depending on where you live. Around here, apples don't do really well long term. They have lots of diseases such as "cedar rust" that will eventually kill apple trees unless you use some sort of fungicide on them throughout the year. Peach trees, apricots and pears seems to do well in the Ozarks.

Also, Jaimie is back again making more salsa as we continue to pack our pantry for the winter. We are definitely not going to get the amount of tomato production that we have gotten in years past. The colder temps this year have prevented our usual bumper crop that we tend to see.

If you know anything about trees or tree health, leave a comment below. How is your garden doing? Leave a comment or better yet upload a picture in the comments below for show and tell.

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Here in AZ, I see many people using a length of old water hose as an insulator for the tie wire. That prevents the tree from getting cut.

That dawned on me afterwards. DOH!

Hindsight being 20/20...

Shared...The sap is no different than your body forming a scab, it will heal itself, leave it alone...And yes I grow fruit trees as well as bonsai.

It occurred to me that you might know. THANKS!!

50+ years of growing trees, yup I do know more than a few things ;-)

Well, I don't have any peach trees here. But I do have lots of other kinds including mango and papaya. When I have a tree that bends or splits, I do support them but I put the cord or support rope through a length of old garden hose so it won't cut into the tree. You have sap coming out the wound. That's not as dangerous as you may think. It is one way the trees heal, just like if you cut yourself. If it eally bothers you too much, you can buy a type of tar or wound dressing for trees. I don't think you've killed it. Give it some TLC and see how it looks in spring. You may be surpprised.

Thanks...live and learn.

Hey Zac, I've noticed that since you moved over from YouTube your happiness has increased. Hope you continue to churn out vids and show life around your homestead. I, too, am a local just north of Bentonville in a little retirement community. Wish I had your acreage down in Huntsville. God bless.

Youtube demonetizing my videos and unsubbing my subscribers just used to suck the life out of me. Thanks for watching! It means a lot!

We have a sweet cherry tree that developed a canker on the trunk and it wept sap everywhere - I thought for sure it was dead. I cut the canker out and sterilized it and the branch right by it still doesn't look damaged. The sap gets really hard. That looks like not enough of the sapwood got really deeply damaged.

Keep checking around the base of the tree, though. Ours keep getting borers and your first hint is something that looks like gobs of jelly around the base of the tree. Ours took a really hard hit this spring and have looked sickly all year. Yours actually looks much more healthy than ours and we still got peaches off ours. Our whole trees are having the struggle with the curling leaves because so much of the sapwood got damaged by the borers. This year we're putting milky spore into the soil to see if we can make sure there won't be those durn little grubs chewing into the base of the tree next spring.

Painful in seeing that knowing that you have been growing it for a few years now. Hopefully the tree will be able to recover on its own! As for fruit only grew raspberries this year, nice that they come back year after year on their own. I also will have had a low tomato harvest as well, experiencing the same unusually cool weather as you.

Yeah, pretty disappointed in our maters this year. Will miss all the salsa...may only end up with around 50 jars.

Maybe next time sleeve the cord with pieces of cheap garden hose, that what my father has always done to stop digging in

The one thing that I can think to do would be to cut that protruding cord so that next year the tree will be able to close that spot in the bark sooner.

I knew there had to be some Steemians around here! I live just outside of Fayetteville, and I have the same thing with tomatoes this year, they won't ripen, the few that I have hanging around out in the garden.

Great video. We are just a little further north of you in Southern Missouri. I bet the tree will heal itself, but it's probably in shock and putting it's effort into repairing itself instead of feeding the leaves. Our tomato yield has been great except for a battle with fruit worms early in the summer. On your advice we grew a lot of the Arkansas traveler (and some others) tomatoes and they are producing like crazy.

IMPORTANT Zach! Those leaves look like a disease called "peach leaf curl". Seriously. It could be coincidence that is started on the stressed limb or it could have started BECAUSE of the stress.
This can be treated with sulfur or copper-based fungicide applied in the fall after most leaves have fallen and again in spring before buds open.
I hope this helps.

Do you have a brand name to look for? THANKS!

I don't know a brand name. Just ask your local farm store or maybe better ask a county extension agent. Sorry for the late reply. we are new here and don't know how to tell when we have replies. Plus we are old! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94