The BRUSH Hog CHALLENGE! - I CAN'T CUT GRASS SO IT'S GOTTA BE FIXED!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Vimeo Version (In case the Dtube doesn't load)


Eh! Just run it till it falls apart and get a different one. I worked for two days on getting the stump jumper plate off the brush hog. I've seen lots of videos of people easily removing this plate but there were a few where folks really had to he-man it to get it off. This was the case for me. It wasn't going to budge. I had lots of facebook recommendations and none of them worked. Finally, I used the wedges to get enough space to fit my hand behind there to tighten the nuts of the gear box.

Farm equipment can simply a pain in the butt at times. It just is what it is. It's usually kept out in the elements and when its used, its used hard. So when you try to go and work on pieces of farm equipment, things can be difficult.

It's just another day on the homestead. Winter is coming. Stuff has to get done and so you keep going until the job is finished.

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You need a sonic screwdriver. :)

Do they sell those at Home Depot?? LOL

Yeah I saw that video. No way was I going to cut my blades off like that. He didn't have to do that. The blades come off pretty easy.

based on your top blade standing straight up in this vid, your blades are too tight. They should swing firmly, but freely. It allows the blades to swing when they hit something they can't easily cut, and divert the force, instead of sending it into your splined shaft area and stripping it. That is likely what is the cause or contributing to your difficulty separating the male/female splines.
Good luck with it

That blade was tied up with a cable. You probably couldn't see that on camera. But yeah...all the blades swing freely.

Hang in there. It'll all come together. (Those blades under there are impressive). @ironshield

They were sort of sharp. They could have used a touch up.

Glad you were still able to get the brush hog up and running. We just settled into our 10 acre farm last month and I spent the first two and a half weeks "brush hogging" with a Cub Cadet 2166 riding lawn mower because I do not own any implements or tractors yet. I put my little Cub through hell and luckily it did the job!
Wondering if after you are finished using the brush hog if you stand it up and just keep soaking the spline with diesel fuel for a week or so. Then make another attempt at it. I used diesel as a penetrating fluid when I was in the Corps. Always did the trick!
Good luck!

I think the spine is twisted and it's just not going to come off.

Shared to show Zac's solution!

Did you try WD40 (penetrating oil the night before)? We use this to loosen things that have seized up/rusted tight and just impossible to move. Sometimes it needs two treatments.

@votes+Comments Please back me in my blog posts thanks and I follow you and you follow me//

? couldnt you have got an open end wrench behind the plate and use the rachet on the other side? Maybe for the future.

in home depot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50