We Have 34 Jars of Pickled JALEPENOS - Jaimie Packs FIRE IN JARS!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

This time of year we take advantage of all the produce we can find and preserve it in whatever way we think will keep it tasting good for future use. We love spicy foods and so when the opportunity presented itself to pickle a whole bunch of Jalepenos that would have otherwise spoiled, we jumped up and got to work!

You can pickle almost anything and its a very simple process. All you need is Vinegar. Pickling is a practice that dates back to India almost 4000 years ago although its clear to historians that pickling may not have been discovered only in that part of the world. Vinegar is a pretty easy ingredient to make and most cultures used it around the world. By submerging your vegetable in vinegar and adding salt and other anti-microbial spices such as garlic, you've created an environment that almost no bacteria can survive. Thus the food is preserved for later consumption.

South Korean Pickling Jars
pickling-jars.jpg

We are busy putting up as many vegetables from our garden as possible. The weather has been a bit odd this year. It's produced a bumper crop of peppers but not so many tomatoes. The cool weather is keeping them from ripening like they should. We may not get the same amount of salsa that we normally do every year. Some of these jars of pickled Jalepenos will be shared with friends.

Pickling Info

pickling.jpg

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg

Sort:  

When I was younger we always pickled green beans they taste great and are not mushy

I love canned green beans...its one of the few canned veggies I (zac) will eat.

Great video and valuable information, thanks for sharing! My wife and I have been getting for into doing these types of things.

Josh good to see you following Zac and on Steemit.

Thanks for stopping by and for watching!

My pleasure

It is so much more satisfying upvoting you here than it was on YouTube. Missed you guys last night, wish I had a good idea for you on how to do that.

@bobbleheadstead I agree with you it was strange with them not being on after Deep South Homestead.

Yes more satisfying for sure.

I know, unfortunately, some good things must end. Did you get your knife? I think you won a knife right?

Thanks. Almost, but I was a very close 2nd to winning the knife. I'll just have to keep trying.

Hey! It's Charles the winner of one of these jars! I just wanted to say thanks so much for it. They are SO good! I put them on nachos, in tuna salad, on sandwiches - they are outrageous! Thanks so much!

YEAH!! So happy you like it! Glad you are over at steemit and happy to have you as a patron!

I always enjoy watching Jamie and learning her recipes. This one looks easy peasy. Now I'm off to pick some peppers.

Yes me too, she is a good teacher.

Yes, it's very easy. YOU CAN DO IT!

Shared another great video!

Thanks for the tea kettle tip! I've been canning and pickling since I was knee high to a grass hopper and I have never used this method! You have made my pickling much easier. I also make my own habanero hot sauce. We like it because it has more of a fruity taste rather than peppery. Packs a punch too LOL

Beep beep. Hi @cecicastor!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

Great! Thanks for stopping by!

Ah, the picked pepper predicament. This year our pepper plants went gangbusters and we are swimming in banana, cyan, jalapeno, pepperoccina and Corno di Toro Reds. Thanks Jaimie for the video! Now out to the local Tractor Supply to get more canning jars. :)

Wow, you have a great variety this year. Some of my peppers didn't sprout well this year. Still the ones that did are doing very well. I've never tried the Corno's

I have just bought a pressure canner and am ready to use it on all my garden produce coming to harvest. Thanks for the tips to someone who is new to this process. Shalom.

Congrats on the purchase. Have fun!

I have been wanting to do this for ages...thanks

do I assume that the vinegar and water are heated in the kettle? thanks in advance..

Yes, it's boiling hot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55