Homestead Maintenance - A Good Day Is When Nothing Breaks

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


VIMEO USERS (In case Dtube doesn't load)


I once asked a guy how his day was going. He looked tired and was moving slow and I expected a response that reflected his demeanor. Instead I got a positive response that I was not expecting. Without delay, he stated, "Nothing broke". It was comical to me but rang true that out here, things break and its just part of your day. A good day is when nothing breaks that you have to fix or pay to fix.

Homestead Maintenance is something you have to stay on top of. Even a good homeowner living in the suburbs have to stay up on home repairs and the honey-do list. This is magnified on a homestead because you have numerous outbuildings, additional vehicles like tractors and equipment and even animals that will require your maintenance.

This video example is a simple one and it was easy to fix but my 10 year old didn't know what to do so I had to help. It's just another day on the homestead!

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Heh, for me a good day is when I successfully have fed everyone three meals without any of them being late or comprised of bad-for-us food. That does end up most days, but I often gauge my days based on how well I fulfilled this obligation.

Days in which things did not break are a bonus.

Days in which projects that have been needing to get done finally get done are a double bonus.

Yeah, you take the little victories when you can get them.

Shared for others to see and understand it is just how life is on the homestead!

Absolutely if you arent mechanically inclined an self sufficient in maintenance homestead doesnt seem like a possibility.

But I am kinda surprised by the Che shirt.

Most people are surprised by the Che shirt....until you look closely. :)

Wasp dobbers don't care whether things are under cover or not. Any hole will do. We have found them in electrical outlets. Maintenance and repairs to equipment on the homestead are your bread and butter. On our homestead, everyone does repairs or learns how to. That means males and females. That means girls fix machinery and the guys learn to cook!

Yep! My wife has her OWN set of tools.

And don't touch them! They're mine!

Speaking of maintaining things, how's the track loader coming? Nice video BTW.

update hopefully coming soon! Stay tuned!

LOL solar powered post! The future is now!

When I was your sons age I would be on the mower and would always find those great ozark rocks. I would bend a blade or they'd both fall off. Eventually they quit asking me to mow because i always broke it! my chores turned into follow that mower and pick up the rocks! Thanks for using the vimeo as well, dtube just doesnt work sometimes. Hope you have another wonderful day on the homestead and nothing else breaks!

hehehe Good Idea, maintenance with big beard and healthy man!

Yes it is a good day when nothing breaks. Most of the time the list is too long and I don`t want to add another thing to it.

Just when you think you'll have a hugely productive day on the homestead....something breaks. Totally agree that it's 50% of your time doing maintenance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76