Putting in the Work - A story for new musicians joining Steem

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


   If you are a brand new musicians jumping on to this platform, or you have been here for a little bit, and keep on getting frustrated, this might be a valuable story for you.

   I would love to hear your thoughts on this, and maybe for you to share your experience regarding your own personal growth.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great story and you're absolutely right. It is a labor of love to develop a following on Steemit or to any craft you set your mind to. It takes time and energy. Instant gratification is not realistic. You have to put in the work.

Your story explains it perfectly. Thanks @meno.

Steemit's a great platform for new musicians
62477_118473501543641_118468261544165_136141_4878318_n

I find this is very true for almost any skill you strive to perfect , or a project you want to build, everything worth something takes an amount of time . There is even this ''10.000 hour'' theory that it actually takes that amount of time to become a master of anything. Music is such a strange ''job'' in the sense that we might put hundreds or even thousands of hours of work before someone else takes notice for it ... even worse when you actually start requesting for some profit , when ''are you good enough to ask for a reward'' is a blurry line, but if you just keep pushing eventually you'll have a following and reputation and people will start noticing you for ''that thing'' you know how to do. I think this translates to this platform in the same way, sharing and putting in your ''hours'' here and actually giving your best to bring nice content (not just musically speaking) to Steemit and being constant with it will actually earn you some reputation and people that share your interests will follow you ''for that thing that you do well'' . Just my opinion :) .

exactly sir @meno, I can tell who is someone here in this platform who looks at the payout than considering the hardwork or the effort have been involved in that certain musically post. Fruit of its labor will offer a real satisfaction.

that is exactly it my brother!!! as always your friendly demeanor and attitude is always welcome!!

Sage wisdom shared thru a real-life example... That was perfect Meno - that harmonica player was likely worth double that!

that's right brother...

FIrst and foremost, I can’t even tell you how many times the “hourly wage” mentality snags people up in the studio. The amount of takes something requires makes absolutely zero difference to the audience. They can’t hear that you comp’d ten takes together....if it’s right the first time, it’s right.
Love the mentality that it’s all the preparation that went into the session, not the session itself that matters because -that’s- what my day to day running a studio has made abundantly clear to me.

That being said, like Al i have go to people for instruments I can’t handle myself. On records that can afford it nothing is better than bringing in a ringer and dazzling the client. Wherever Al found his harmonic ace, he should hold on to him because I’ve had a hell of a time finding somebody reliable the few times I needed it and I’m not investing in a full chromatic set of them myself. : )

Excellent advise, hopefully more will listen than do not.

cheers my friend

Well.. Am barely two weeks here.. Tho i haven't earned much from my openmic entries..But i so much love the platform. it's atleast bringing something to my wallet and challenging me to write songs and be more creative. I wish songwriters challenge would continue too, cos this are encouraging ways for steemit musicians and will keep attracting more people to the platform... I know i am new here but i tell you,i love this place and i will hold on to it until forever....i love steemit,i love openmic ..great job @meno and @luzcypher ...love you guys

thanks for the comment mcmusic.. well the songwriter's challenge will come back, hopefully it won't be too long before it's back up and running, but it's not necessarily a bad thing to take a little break... it's after all quite a bit of work to participate. cheers mate

@meno.. That's great news. I await it's return.. Until then.. Am proud of u guys. My reputation wudnt hv bin near where it is nw without u guys. openmic is a blessing to me and the best thing that has ever happened to me on steem it so far.

Can't agree more...

thanks for sharing this. the music is first and foremost; the results are secondary.

great attitude to have brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31