I just made my first dtube video!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube7 years ago

It was actually very easy, I'll show you what it was like for me.

steemit observations and questions.jpg

First of all you, don't have to be a Youtuber to do it. All you need is:

  • A video file saved on your computer
  • A thumbnail apparently? (I'll explain later in this article, they are easy to make)
  • And of course, a Steemit account

Now if you are a youtuber you can get all of these things easily in the video manager section of your youtube account. I am on youtube at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2X5JVrjeG7F4_MNHBfa_ow

So here's what I did:

First I went to https://www.dtube.video

They use .video instead of .com, dtube.com was already taken by a bicycle company.

Then I registered by simply hitting the "log in" button.

I gave them my steemit user @meatspoon

You don't use your steemit password here you use your private posting key which can be found in your wallet.

1st.JPG

Go to your wallet and click "permissions".

That's actually my public key in the picture above because I knew I'd be sharing a picture of it here. It's also default when you get to this page so you need to change it to get to your private key.

IMG_7367.JPG

When you click this there are no pop-ups or anything it simply changes your public to private. Click "hide private" after you've copied your key to the clipboard.

So I copied that and pasted it in on dtube as my password. See... as long as you have a steemit account you don't have to register with dtube.

Then I browsed around a little and checked out a few videos. But was soon drawn to the upload button on the upper right hand side.

IMG_7368.JPG

Then I just followed the instructions on the screen. Once it uploads your video it will start playing it right there on that same screen as a preview. Underneath the preview you can capture a thumbnail for your video.

Be sure to write a good description. But the most important thing you can write well is the title because that's what convinces browsers to check out your video. I wasn't too focused on that for this one, I just wanted to learn the process and get my first one done.

It let me pick as many tags as I wanted, so I did. But I just checked it while writing this and none of them worked, it only appears in dtube now. I need to look into that or hopefully somebody that knows can help me out in a reply here.

The only trouble I had while uploading was when I hit upload it said error, and asked me to upload a thumbnail. Even though I had captured one on the page. So I just uploaded one, and then it worked. Ironically it used the thumbnail I had captured not the one I uploaded. It's in beta and so new it was probably just a glitch I guess.

Overall I'm super excited to have my first Dtube video!

And I'm happy that it was so easy too.

And here's a really awesome feature that I didn't know about until I used it: When you post on DTube it automatically shows up in your Blog on Steemit.

Thank you all for reading and please leave comments and replies because they are what help me learn the best. I love when people point out any mistakes I have made or shortcuts I have missed because it only makes things easier for me down the road.

Peace, Steem and Hodle!

Bryant

Sort:  

Sounds really great, I will be trying this later, thanks for the tutorial x

keep it up dear i will also try

Nice. Thanks for the info!

I posted a video, and when I go back to push play and watch it, it doesn't play. I thought it was a problem on my end, so I did it again, uploading a 2nd video. Neither play for me. I'm not sure if longer videos, or higher quality videos don't upload, or if the video file extension has to be mp4 or what...Thanks for sharing your experience.

Sorry to hear that, not sure what's wrong. My video was MP4, maybe that's the key. Care to reply with a link? I'll see if it works on my end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46