Why do my Steemit/DTube posts have more comments & interaction than average?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Pretty disappointing thing happened to me yesterday..I've commented suuuperlong comment under one on the most popular DTubers video...which was actually talking about some problems of the platform. And - I didn't get any answer. The user has already been pretty active since then so I assume he has seen my comment and just decided to ignore it.


That's suuuuper sad and honestly gets me pretty angry. Between the upvote I've given him and publishing the comment, 11 minutes passed. 11 minutes of my time to give him feedback and he didn't even reply...

That made me scroll a bit thru some of the well known Steemit/Dtube accounts and I've realized one actually cool thing:

Interaction under my posts is definitely above the average :)

Selection_119.png

Selection_121.png

Selection_120.png

Why's that? Well, I have a feeling I know why. Cuz when someone comments on my content, I take my time to reply :) Cuz I know the time he commented was cut off from his time to create his post. All this frustration from yesterday made me publish my first ooonly talk video on DTube ever. And I totally don't like those..

I'm not saying I'm perfect. I usually only click thru other peoples videos (@tibfox ;)) cuz there's just not enough time. But I definitely make sure to properly reply to everyone who gives me a feedback. I feel that should be alpha and omega of every Steemian anyway. Isn't this like an absolutely must-do etiquette thing?

Anyway, I'm also adding my comment from yesterday since I didn't get any answer on it, sooo maybe some of you might react here. Thx!


Well I have pretty clear opinion on this. As you've said, there are only creators on this platform so far. I mean, it kinda hurts to say, but I believe there are not even 10-20 people in the world who come to dtube and don't have an account. Like real content consumers. We're all just (newborn) creators...and we like to create. The time you consume the content is the time you're not creating.

Another big reason is the quality of the content. Videos here are mostly talk! And usually not even talk which provides value...if you go on Youtube and see what people watch - it's 2 things. Either amazingly edited videos or talk videos which provide value. Huuge chunk of videos on dtube are kinda talks about talks about nothing. My reaction to him and him etc etc...I mean. Yeah, it's a colaboration, it brings community together (at least it looks like that from the outside). Also "dtubers" got to the habit of uploading every day because it's lucrative. You upload daily and you earn a looot of STEEM. I just can't get over this really....Even the best creators in the world on Youtube don't upload daily! Maybe Casey used to back in the day. But it's casey...Do we suddenly have 20 new Caseys here on Dtube? Nope..so yah, most of the vids fall into the category

"hmm, another day, I gotta upload something new...lemme talk about this..no edit, upload, day checked".

Soo yeah, that's my point of view...And I'm definitely not the best video editor here. Like..by faaaar not the best. My edits are pretty basic. BUT I don't upload daily. I do upload when I have something interesting happening in my life. And I never upload only talk videos. Because in my eyes it's not a real content. But then again, I'm wondering how Youtube was back in the day...it was probably also just small group of creators and views were low. If we're really in the early days, it's all good. But we definitely need people from outside come here and watch the videos - and you get them here by creating REAL content. Not "my reaction to him and his video"...cuz that just makes the inner circle tighter...which is not bad...but it also doesn't move things in the direction of attracting new users...at least that's my opinion, maybe I'm completely wrong :D

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Join me and learn new skills on Skillshare! :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Posted with @steem-plus
Sort:  

Tak jsem si ten koment a toho týpka našel - neznám ho, ale ignorant to asi bude dobrý :D Teda pokud nemá v plánu odepsat později - já si někdy taky nechávám odepisování na komentáře na později.

Jo tvoje comment section bývá většinou nadstandardně živá, to je pravda :) Taky se snažím odpovídat všem, ale zase všeho s mírou - vyměňovat si pak s někým komenty o rozsahu středoškolské slohovky je časově dost náročné :D

A nebylo to "talk-only" video - ukázal jsi nám přece svůj "biting nail hack" :DDD

Hahah no :D zatial to funguje ale ten leukoplast je aabsolutne nechutny po 2 hodinach :D som ho 2x menil, nech je aspon ako tak biely :D

i do try to reply to all the comments, especially when i see that commenter made an effort to write it. it can happen to miss something but i do try.
you really do have high comment count on your posts.
and i do understand your feeling when the comment is not answered

thx! well, he had 2 commentsthere soo he saw it for sure..

I think you're right @matkodurko. The usual DTuber pops up a video and leaves, like YouTube. You have, I guess for lack of a better term, a Steemit mentality where interaction and engagement is everything. You're not an 'average' user of the system.

I like the videos, but for some dumb reason not all DTube videos play for me, so I admittedly shy away from them.

Yepp, you've described the issue correctly. The biggest disappointment for me was that the video was titled "why people don't watch dtube videos"....well, that's why...cuz if they do and comment, you dont even answer! :D

Hmm can't really help here, sometimes videos don't play for me either...

People are looking for quick, simple not so much involvement. They get their views out there, but unless something moves them, they don't stay around long enough to comment. In that time they could watch another video.

I agree they should stop in and respond to comments it would improve a following, but most YouTubers don't comment back. Unless it's in the very beginning. Their way of addressing comments usually comes up in their video, if they took the time to read them.

I find that making genuine comments answering the questions and participating in the conversation is probably the best way of contributing towards the blockchain besides posting.

Often, I feel I could just post my own post with all the thoughts I get reading posts in my feed but that may be due to the fact I follow some really interesting folks?

Anyhow, if I pour my mind and time into a reply, I do like some sort of acknowledgement. The really popular folks may not always have the bandwidth (in real life) to be able to reply and upvote I know.

That being the case, I try and spend my time where I am welcome in general and on steem too. If I found myself in a pub and having a conversation with myself, I would finish up my drink and leave.

In the same vein, some folks get unfollowed ;). Never my nephew though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hhahah the line with the bar got me laughing totally :D I love ur unique humour uncle :D

ohh you don't like my talk videos =(...ok ok I forgive you =)

Yeah I'm right with you on comments. I think it's super important to respond, and I personally only ignore spam messages. Your engagement is great, so keep it up =)

Shiiit, believe me or not, before posting I checked your profile and was like: "Ok, pre-last post 8 days ago, last post 3 days ago...means she's posting cca once in 5 days. Ok she won't see this :D"

you know I like your talk videooooos :) !

And that being said, I should go check em out as I havent seen those last 2 :D

ahahahah no worries, I'm just messing with you! =) you may like the older one actually, well I hope!

I totally liked the first one actually :) watched it alllll :) that dream totally fits you two :)

ah I'm glad you liked it =) hopefully we can make it a reality soon =)

bro, I think the same you do, although not all the video talks are boring. There is only 1 user in dtube that I consider is a waste of time but wont mention here to not start drama, me no like to fight.

Take it easy and be patient, dont let this things to control your emotions... good thing to know I will answer to your comments right away lol I wanna you to keep being my friend.

Hahah yuo're right, I shouldnt make drama out of it either :D But I've put 11 minutes into writing that comment :D And he just ignored me hahaha :D

i did not do any real research but i have a feeling that @dtube really likes talk videos.

Well, I completely understood your frustration because you gave your time to watch video, gave time to leave your feedback with discussing some problems. Well, yes sometimes it's also hard for me to leave comments or giving reply of my post because I understand people are giving time to watch my videos but yes, we should reply atleast if someone want to discuss anything. Hmm I am pretty much now release videos infact daily because I am improving my editing skill. Yes , sometimes I miss writing blogs but I don't know why I am not doing that may be pretty much feeling lazy of doing that.

By the way , I can understand your frustration. Have a nice day buddy.. cheers..

Hmmm so making a video takes less time for you than to write a blog? cuz for me, the video is usually 2-3x more work than blogpost....cuz I have to record it, import it, edit it, upload it...then open Gimp and think of some interesting thumbnail..and then create the thumbnail..then export it and upload it..it's just soooo much more work than posts for me..buut yeah, maybe your written posts were suuperlong and that's why..I can't recall it anymore, I've started following you when you arrived on DTube :)

And yupp it was pretty frustrating since the guy is pretty respected figure on DTube scene and I hoped to have interesting conversation with him..well, maybe next time..

Well, recently I am totally working on videos, yes it takes time but my blogs also take time because I have a bad habbit of editing pictures which took lots of time and when i make videos I record 2-3 videos at a same time.. haha..and for edit i made a setup for my videos so that it take less time..

And i hope he will reply because I have seen he replied lately..

Hah I mean, that's why I also didn't name him or anything...cuz it might very well be just a coincidence. I know he ran his own engagement contest with big rewards from his own "pocket"...soo there must definitely be a reason why he's so popular on the platform and he's probably not a bad user...the frustration was brewing for months with every ignored comment from other users :D....it just wasnt the first time something like this happened to me and maybe exactly cuz I've expected user like he is to reply, this time I had to react :)

well, I understand buddy, sometime's it happens so no worries... I hope you will get your reply soon..

I can only agree with you that something like this can be frustrating. In case something like that happens to me - I simply do not comment under the persons account again as the person is obviously not interested in any conversation - So Fu%& it! Different people different behavior. That's how I see it. Anyway have a good day - Weather looks pretty good out there!

Yah probably the best way to go ...better than record yourself bitching about it I guess :DD I'll keep it in mind for the next time :D

Yes bro, that use to happnes everytime. They have steem power, they decided what to do, and sometimes is not nice... that ´point is not really descentralized here

true...but I don't really have a problem with that...their SP means they are more invested in the platform, sooo let them decide :D as long as they answer on comments, Im fine with that :D

Hi, @matkodurko!

You just got a 0.71% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81