You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The core concepts of DTube's new blockchain

in #dtube5 years ago

I don't understand. You are proposing small and debatable improvements, with the only major change being the fact that there is no power up. Why not use all the energy you put into Avalon to improve the Steem blockchain instead, getting voted as a witness in the meantime by doing 4 or 5 posts with updates.

Yes, STEEM was very slow and disappointed you, but the whole point (especially with the SPS) is that talented devs like you should carry it forward. If you are capable of creating a blockchain, you are certainly capable of getting us SMTs faster.

Also, I know that @ned and most people at Steemit, Inc really respect you. You could have endless discussions with them about Proof of Brain when designing SMTs, getting the features you would require for Dtube coin.

I fear that creating your own blockchain was bad for both STEEM and Dtube, and I hope that if Steemit, Inc starts working a bit faster you might come back and create an SMT one day, even help with the development of STEEM.

Sort:  

I already answered most of it in your other comment. But yeah, I also wish things went faster, starting 2 years ago. I can still remember in Lisbon (SF2) @ned telling me how the SMTs would be on the testnet in january 2018!!

Now it's a bit late in my opinion, and releasing SMTs now won't really do so much considering we're in 2019 and all other decent chains have similar solutions. We even have community-built solutions like steem-engine to do it without leaving steem chain. That's what I told SteemIt Inc staff recently in a call where they questioned me about SMTs.

SteemIt Inc said this year was about survival and focusing on a specific part of STEEM. For me it should be the economics and pob. There's tons of research and experimentation required to achieve a truly fair distribution, which is the ultimate goal. It's the interesting part of STEEM, the one which got us the most results (most users are on steem because of this feature in the first place). Yet, instead, devs prefer working on yet another UI that does the same thing as the previous one, or finding new concepts (games, exchanges, gambling) to connect into STEEM and profit. NOBODY wants to do the blockchain work for free, if it benefits everyone.

SPS will be used for syphoning imo. The same people currently acting bad in the network will exploit it. It will pay for a few people's vacations in bangkok basically. HF21 should be just the EIP. Instead we force the SPS in it, because we know people are all dying for the econ changes, so they just say yes. Also, the SPS will take rewards away from the contents reward pool, so you can imagine how I feel about it :))

Yes, all people want to do is siphon rewards, and this is precisely why they will work for free on blockchain development. Once you get addicted to earnings on STEEM, you will do everything to keep the blockchain working and improve it. First build a business, then improve the blockchain. People will do this eventually wether you believe it or not.

Anyway, I’m angry we lost you and hope you come back when things get better.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You didn't lose me, I've always believed in the plurality of blockchains. I believe multiple chains can co-exist, and maybe even cooperate to create value, in some kind of win-win situation. That's what I'm trying to do here if you check the work done on the UI...

And I don't think the community would be able to take over the blockchain's code. As I said in the article, I believe we will witness the fall of the shared blockchain model in the next few years. At the moment you could easily squeeze all the crypto transactions (btc+eth+eos+everything) in the same DPOS chain (would only fill 2% of the 18K tx /sec). Once people realize we can't technically fit the total crypto transactional volume in a single chain anymore, mentalities will evolve and maximalists will have to concede, and every single project will go for customized and dedicated chains like we are doing. Marking these words on the chain right now

Interesting, I hadn’t thought of that. On aother note, why not create a proposal for the SPS and fix some issue you find in the blockchain code? I would be happy if you tried to syphon funds out of STEEM ;)

I am serious though

Posted using Partiko iOS

Currencies and crypto-currencies value is about trust. Would you trust the DTC if the guy who created and designed it was a 'black-hat' hacker who syphoned or scammed another chain? Even if you do because you respect this form of active challenge, do you think it would increase the trust in DTube for the average person? I don't think so, at least not if you think long-term.

I will create proposals for the SPS, but not with the goal of syphoning.

I'm very happy to hear that.

I finally understand your Icon, you might actually be the real Snowball (aka Snuffels) with a huge Batteriepack on his back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72