Aquaponics and Caterpillar Tunnel Greenhouse Walkthrough

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


In the video, I take you on a walkthrough of some of the components of my experimental aquaponics system. This has been the most successful system I've created so far, and I believe is the superior system that can be quite low cost for people that live in the city. The greenhouse is a 10'x20' and does quite well for me in northern Alabama. The biggest issue and cost is keeping the fish tank heated. I'm looking into some methods to do this with compost, or a solar hot water system.

If you enjoy my content and efforts please consider the following ways to support me.

I have some homemade products for sale @ https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/thetinkertribe/ grab a homemade upcycled candle or a T-shirt hand pressed by a local friend.

Make a one time donation:

Contribute to my crowdfunding campaign for the Surthrival Trailer! https://fundition.io/#!/@makinstuff/ok49qt5zv

https://paypal.me/Gregmakinstuff

Become a member on my patreon! https://www.patreon.com/thetinkertribe

Sign up with my referral link to play Steemmonsters! I just started playing and it's a blast https://steemmonsters.com?ref=makinstuff

If you have a friend that's looking to get started on Steemit they can get started immediately with a credit card through steem.ninja. You can do that with this link and support me as well
https://account.steem.ninja?ref=makinstuff

Bitcoin Addy: 15JkFZp7L9k62JSi5XvvEzmwe22Djv3ZX2

As always if you Follow, Upvote, and Re-steem it really helps me out as well!

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future, may the great creator bring peace and joy within your hearts, Greg @makinstuff

cropped-LogoV4.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thinking of setting up a small aquaponics system next fall. for my winter food. Two ideas for alternative heat 1. A simple black garden hose strung across the south side of your greenhouse set up on a thermostat to circulate when it’s over 60. The other would be one of these http://mwands.com/store/9-3-8-inch-dual-power-submersible-water-heating-element
Set up with a battery pack and a couple of solar panels

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @andre-ager I'm on it brother I have a small solar power system I'd like to set up to give that a shot.

first: I made this comment under a totally other post.. UPS .. too many tabs opened :D

--
This was really really interesting and teaching mate and because you did this all by your own I want to nominate your work and video as #awesomediycontent ! :D

Good to hear that you didn't stopped to experiment and try other ways to keep the system running and effective. I have my own little 300m² garden and basically, do not need such a system for now but I am always wanting to learn new things and technology which can provide value to people. If I would live self-sufficient, I think this method can help a lot. Some day I will probably need such a solution. If my life plan is going well..

Aircrete is also super exciting :D I want to get into this as well some day. I am excited about your upcoming stuff!

Peace!


123.png

Thank you very much
for making the blockchain so interesting with your post!

You recently got curated by our service with the full voting power :)
This post was tagged by @tibfox as valuable DIY content on dtube!

We are here to motivate and thank you by sending this little gift.

Please don't hesitate to support this service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50