Can't login to DTube Private Posting Key is Wrong - SOLVED!!!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Have you recently joined Steemit and found that you can't login to DTube? If you got the error "Private Posting Key is Wrong" then read on for the solution.

My first post to Steemit is born out of my mission to discover more about the platform and to share what I have learned along the way with the Steemit community and the world at large.

Having discovered Steem, Steemit and DTube in the last few days, I was anxious to get started posting content and discovering the possibilities of the platform.

Why is my Private Posting Key Wrong?

Upon trying to log in to DTube using my Steemit username and Private Key I, too, was met with the error message "Private Posting Key is Wrong". Figuring I had made some mistake I decided to investigate a little further and found that the "Private Posting Key" is a separate beast from the "Private Key" used to log in to Steemit.

To find your "Private Posting Key" do the following:

  1. Log in to you Steemit Account
  2. Click on the profile icon at the top-right and select "Change Password" from the dropdown menu
  3. Next, click on the "Permissions" tab and you will see your posting key and some others listed there. NOTE: THIS IS NOT YOUR PRIVATE POSTING KEY
  4. To the right of the listed "Posting" key is a button labeled "Show Private Key". Click this and your "Private Posting Key" will be revealed.
  5. Copy the newly revealed "Private Posting Key" and paste it into the password field on DTube and, voila!!! you're in.

I hope this post is useful to new users to the community. The mission of my new website - https://makeyourselfrich.online - is to teach people how to utilise internet technologies to create wealth, and solving little problems along the path is what many of the post on my site are intended to do so this first post is quite apt. I will be posting mini mowtos and problem solvers as i go along, not just about Steemit but regarding anything I learn. Steemit is a truly exciting platform, though, by my reckoning.

This post and all future posts will be mirrored to my website, however, I have decided to try posting all content to Steemit in the first instance to utilise the features of the blockchain. Can't wait for the Smart Media Tokens. Oh, Boy!!!...

Thanks @dan and... @ned i believe it is... a lot more to come.

EDIT: It seems to be simpler to mirror content from Wordpress to Steemit at this stage as opposed to vice versa so this is what I will actually be doing. I am writing an article on this and it will be linked to here once completed.

Sort:  

Thaks a lot for this very usefull article ! I think it's very helpfull, first of all for me but altought for all the community ! :)

Congratulations @makeyourselfrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi! I still can not see the private posting key, even tho i clicked on the buttom #show private key# nothing is going on. Thanks for the post anyways.

You probably solved this by now but the private key appears in place of the key you can currently see. it's a subtle change but it's there...

Thank you soooo much for anticipating others need to find this answer! I signed up just to get to Dtube and was so frustrated at not being able to log in. I subscribed to you! Thanks again!

Ah, so that's how you do it. Problem solved indeed. The only problem with having someone tell you such a simple thing is that you then feel really dumb, but I'll live with it. Good on you.

I placed the posting key in the log in window of D.Tube but it still says: "
wrong posting key"

Thanks for posting this, helpful for steem newbie! :) Just learning the whole thing and at the beginning there is a lot of to understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57