Grow Food Not Lawns Canada - September 2nd, 2017

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


(Video 11:36)

In this video I'll take you for a tour inside our home and all around the homestead to show you what we've got going on here in the last legs of Summer.

The work won't end until about the middle of November, we're in high harvesting and seed saving time from now until then.


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Epic Sunflower heads. Are those Mammoth variety? Lots of seeds to save!

I'm actually not sure what type of sunflower they are LOL!! Is that bad, it is eh? I've been saving the seeds for 3 years now....and I can't remember what type they started as...they could even be cross pollinated now with other sunflower varieties because I planted a different type last year, about 6 seeds Hhahahaaa...I'm definitely no professional, more like a flukey gardener!! AHHAAHAHAHAA

You have an amazing garden babe.
Not surprising though from one so awesome!
Great stuff @lyndsaybowes

You're so kind, *blushes....thank you!!

Well, that was excellent! I have to watch the source video, my video player doesn't support the D tube format for some reason.
That's really quite the garden you have there! Your growing season is a lot longer than mine, I expect to have frost by the end of September.

Thanks for watching Amber, yes we are blessed with a beautiful long fall which is honestly more like summer, here on the south shore of Nova Scotia. Things to take a while to get going here in the spring though so it is a trade off. Also having things in greenhouses helps a lot too, picking tomatoes in there in November is a real bonus!

Picking tomatoes in November would be a trip!

Chikeeeenssssssss , yeyyy . Soo cuteeee

Aww, you like our little gals, so nice <3 <3 <3

Thanks for the tour! Gave me a lot of great ideas

Aw, thanks for coming by Michael, what kind of ideas did I give you?

It was nice to see the variety of veggies and plants you have plus raising the chicks for meat, I've never done that. I would like to be as self sufficient as you.

You can do it! Start small and know there are no mistakes, only lessons <3 <3 <3 Even growing one small plant is progress!!

Thank you for sharing that.

Grow food not lawns...what a wonderful idea.

I love the entire pure life movement. It is inspiring to see one who truly is living it and sharing all your knowledge with others. The natural community is growing by leaps and bounds. People are tired of being sick because of the poison that is given to use by the mainstream corporation. The food company execs ought to be imprisoned. They are killing people and they know it.

Thanks again for sharing what you are doing...it helps me think of what more I can do in my life (I gave up meat in Jan after learning the devastation that industry has on the planet.

I followed you so I can keep up on your progress.

Yes, you are so right, I would love to see those heartless thieves and poisoners in jail for life, they are the ultimate in depravity. I'm glad you're also looking at ways to detach yourself from these toxic systems, good on you @taskmaster4450!

Vinegar is as good a cleaning agent as bleach without the toxic effects.

See I do know a little :)

As for the thieves, it is all intertwined with the banksters. They exist to enslave and pillage from humanity. It is so sad how we are indoctrinated into this and most have no choice but to follow. So few break away mentally to realize this is not "normal". We need to do everything we can to take our freedom back.

That is why Steemit is so great...break the Reddit/Facebook hold over humanity. One small step....

By the way, one other question...what does the place of the @lyndsaybowes do?

Is this something that I should be doing? I have seen other do it and am unaware of what the significant of it is.

Thanks for all your guidance.

I'm unsure what the question is, can you clarify for me so I can answer properly?

You put in one of your replies to me @taskmaster4450 which creates a hyperlink.

Is there a reason why it is suggested to use that instead of just addressing it as taskmaster4450. I have seen other suggest using the @ before a users name and I was wondering what the reason was for it if there is one..

Should I post @lyndsaybowes instead of lyndsaybowes?

Ooh I gotchya! Either work fine! The @ will notify the person their name has been mentioned, yet I find notifications are hit and miss on Steemit at times.

Ah ok. Thank you for that. I was wondering it. I have seen others post that it is a good idea to do it. I thought maybe it had something to do with how the sites are searched and helped Steemit in the search engines. And yes, I find the notifications work one day but not the next three. This is probably why it says Beta in the upper left hand corner of the screen.

By the way, thank you for all your assistance and the upvotes. I do appreciate it. This place can be a little confusing and yesterday I passed the two week point. Still a bit wet behind the ears as they say.

Hey I've been on for a year and I still learn new things every day, it's all good :) And I'm happy to help!

I have yet to watch videos, because heavy rain network becomes bad, the video definitely fun hehehe ..

I dug out my back lawn years ago and starting growing food. You have quite a garden. :)

Thank you David, and good on you for creating food independence for yourself!

Oh by the way, finally signing up with d-tube, I'm such a procrastinator!!

GREAT TO HEAR!!!

going to try to do a simple semi-animated video soon... just an experiment... see how that goes...

That's gonna BE Off Da HOOK!!!

Would you mind if I ran the script past you? XD

I'd be honoured!!

Still thinking! (Slow thinker)

Excellent. I'm in Canada too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86