Steemit Open Mic Week 63 "Mean Sumbitch" (Cover)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


A Country Song My Friend Wrote

It's one of the only covers I know, and I still butcher it, but I have a lot of fun playing it. One day I'll nail it, until then you're all stuck with this haha!

Lyrics to "Mean Sumbitch" by David James Brown

I wore this red shirt, to hide my bloodshot eyes
I've been up all night a cryin', and thinkin' bout your lies
Every time you said you loved me, it didn't mean a stitch
I cry to the skies above me, You're one mean Sumbitch

Jumpin' every time the phone rings, and runnin' for the door
I wait up every night for you, but you ain't comin' home
Oh I wish that you were sleepin', outside in a ditch
But it's her company you're keepin', you're one mean sumbitch

If I'd a knowd you were a Cowboy, I'd a knowd your cheatin' heart
But you were never straight with me, you lied right from the start
You were such a damn good talker, I fell right for your pitch
But you were just as good a walker, you're one mean sumbitch

If you play music and are on the Steem blockchain, I encourage you to enter the open mic! Hell you can't do worse than I can, just take the leap and give er a shot! ENTER >>> Steemit Open Mic Week 63 - Record Your Performance And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

What a cracker babe.
Love the lyrics and your sultry voice as ever is wicked.
Great cover Lyndsay ❤️

Thanks for giving er a listen TP! :) :)

I LOVE IT! wooo double playin great work girl! your voice is a favorite of mine its got grit and badassness all over it. loved

Thank you so much @SoundLegion :) I'm glad you enjoyed it <3

That was cool! I think the lyrics are funny. That poor girl should've known about them cheatin' cowboys. lol. I think I might try to enter the open mic this week too. Maybe... we'll see If I can find a good song to play.

Yess! It's meant to be a funny song, even though I can't help but be my dark and serious self when playing it haha :) I will keep an eye out for your song Derek!! :) :) Good Luck!!

it's amazing Lyndsay, loved this country song you did :) great job!! <3 your friend is also a great song writer :) perfect!
peace & love

Thanks for listening my Awesome Friend Davood! I'm glad you liked the song!

This is another great tune screaming to be produced! Great job 🎼

Thank you so much for listening @BriMax <3 <3 <3 I'm happy that you liked it :)

My pleasure!

I loved the song. You have a voice that is well suited for country. Very sultry voice. Where does the talent end. lol. Good luck on open mic my friend

Thank you <3 <3 <3

Bravo! I like how it ends with "you're one mean sumbitch" all the times. ;-)
Thank you for singing and sharing! I love it.

Aw, I'm happy you loved it :) Thanks for letting me know.

My pleasure :)

Well done! I realy enjoyed that, I think your voice lends itself perfectly to that style of tune <3

Cool @dayleeo <3 <3 Thanks for listening :)

No problem thanks for having the courage to put it out there!

Nice sad song. Well played 2! I'm glad I met you and your husband here. You both rock! :) Thank you for sharing this.

That's really kind of you to say, thank you @feelmeflow :) I agree @hendrix22 rocks a LOT. I look forward to getting to know you :) :)

Love this cover, Lyndsay! You are a lady with many talents. Good luck in this week's contest. I hope you win! You deserve it.

:) Thanks for liking it, I don't think it's winner worthy, the talent of the open mic is AMAZING, I appreciate your confidence in me though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69