The Honeyman Song

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


It's the 4th year now, without my best friend Derek

And it took a long time to be able to write this song. For the first 2 years...I just thought he was still alive, but we hadn't talked for a while. There were a lot of shocks. Remembering that he was gone. Now, I do understand that he is not coming back. A life taken too young, he had a stroke at age 35. We are blessed that we had as much time together as we did, the doctors said it could have happened to him at any time in his young life, there was something 'wrong' in his brain.

Now I am just grateful for all the wonderful memories that we made together, growing up and causing all sorts of trouble. He was a big part of my first child Eddie's life. And later on got to know Brendan, Kiedis and Stryder. I will meet him again one day...for now I have peace knowing he is an Angel who watches over our family day and night.
Cheering us on from the other side.


All my favourite boys...


Derek and I, our last visit together just one month before he passed...


He was a huge supporter of our music, here he is inspecting as we load up Brendan's jeep for a gig.


He'd even fill in on drums sometimes!


He spent a lot of time with @EddieBowes...


Even gave Eddie his first beer LOL!


The best photo ever of him, it really captures his Spirit.


My Graduation. I think he was more proud than me! Hahaha!!

Thank you for listening to the song, and for allowing me this trip down memory lane. Sharing like this is a big part of the healing process for me. I thank you also, for witnessing my journey.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Mr. Honeyman: I never had the pleasure of meeting you but I feel I know you through Lyndsay. You have a kind face and eyes and I am pretty sure you have a kind soul. I am so glad that you were able to meet my son and his boys before you transitioned. Thank you for being such a good friend to Lyndsay and then to Eddie. I understand the pain of losing friends early and truly feel that we meet them again...just not now and that they are angels looking over us. RIP Mr. Honeyman

That was really touching Marion...I have tears in my eyes... <3 <3 Thank you for this note <3 <3 <3 <3

The loss of a friend so young is always heartbreaking and not something you ever get over. I've never been religious but have always felt that I would meet up again with those I have loved and lost in the next place my consciousness visits.
I know you will do the same babe. 😉❤️

Yeah, he can show me around the new digs one day xo <3 Thanks @tremendospercy. Big Love Bro. <3

What a beautiful post and song @lyndsaybowes you really have a talent to capture the essence of the person and the moment. My best friend died at 39 so I can really relate to this, the words "only the good die young" never rang more true. Your friends love, warmth and kindess literally shines from his eyes. It's not always about how long you live it's about the things you do and the people you love and who love you back. And anyone that inspired such a profoundly beautiful song must have lived the lives of ten men.

Reading your comment felt really good @perceptualflaws, I'm glad you could see his Spirit shining through in the photos...

I'm sad hearing that you have gone through a similar experience though. I'm so sorry, to you and everyone your best friend left behind :'( :'( Hugs <3

Thank you @lyndsaybowes and equally I'm so sorry for your loss. Like I imagine with yourself it was a really difficult time but despite the sadness and the tears such amazing people also deserve to be remembered with laughter, smiles .. and beautiful songs!

This was a beautiful tribute to Derek and I am very sorry for your loss. I love the picture of him by the water, so beautiful. I can't even imagine how hard it had to be to go through this terrible loss and still is, but he always will be with you and I believe one day you will see him again, when the time is right but for now he is your angel watching over your family.
I love the song, and I know that Derek likes it too from the heavens.
I lived in PG for 25 years so I was surprised to hear you sing about you living in PG. Very cool.

Wow, what a small world!! Derek and I both lived in College Heights :) :) :)

Thank you so much for the healing vibes you sent me with your kind words, much love @joalvarez!

Like you said what a small world. I lived in College Heights for about 2 years but mostly just mostly in town. We are almost like neighbors. My boys were born in PG and I still have lots of friends and family there. I think you are sort of familiar with one of my sons @joordanzzz who loves your chicken naming contests.
Wish you all the best my friend.

AWwwww! Wow, I love the synchronicity of this! :) :) Yeahh!!! We love @joordanzzz over here, always picks such hilarious names it makes our sons laugh and laugh :) :) This is great :)

That image of him by the water is my favorite.
Words can't really express the feeling of the loss of a loved one that will never go away, but I truly believe they all still exist in their truest forms.

Thank you @lk666 <3 <3 <3 I know that you get it <3 <3 <3

sorry for this bad happen, you did a great tribute for him!
one day we will all leave this sick world ... but it's so hard for each one of us when we lost one of our best friends or family, I can feel it :( it's breaking us ...
peace <3!

Thanks for listening Davood, I really hope one day soon you can help me make this the grunge song it is supposed to be...I definitely need you and your guitar for the ending!

thank you so much Lyndsay, it's great for choosing me for this song, I will be glad to do it :), I wanted to ask you about it too :) it will be great

You'd do me a great honour!

Thanks for sharing your song of your best friend. I lost a couple of friends that used to keep my phone ringing all the time. The phone doesn't ring that much any more.

:'( I innerstand,

Thank you for sharing your heart with me here David.

I lost a childhood friend 10 years ago and still don't know what happened to him because they wont tell me, not a relative :(

I wish for you to find closure @sass <3

We had a love/hate relationship, but still, childhood relationships are tight. I was thinking of posing as a family member but I didn't want to go there

That is a great tribute to your friend. You can tell in the photos he is a cool dude. Great to hear you sing this song again

Aww, yea, the coolest! ooxo Was extremely rare to see him without a tricksy smile :)

Your friend died of a stroke at the age of 35?!?!? Yikes!

I’ve had people say ‘God takes the innocent young’ to me many times over the years.

Yeah...only the good die young is a true saying. <3 <3

Yeah, couldn’t remember how the saying went exactly, but that must have been a shocker for you.

Never really been close to anyone who has died young. Maybe I’m just lucky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55