Original synthesizer based dance/rock and roll music!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Luke Spillane is an electronic dance-rock artist making original live vocal, synthesizer based rock and roll. After years of experimenting with guitars, indie, dance and electro/techno music, Luke is now putting out some pure electronica, a lot of which has a live feel and is mostly produced on the fly. Luke is currently arranging UK tour for 2018 and also has a new album called 'The Salt of the Earth', due early to mid 2018.

Hi there if you didn’t know who I was, you kind of know now after reading the above short bio! After my stint playing in various bands making great friends and acquaintances with local like-minded individuals, I still remained unsatisfied with how I had progressed and with the things I’d achieved in and around the local circuit and online. After deciding to pack it all in on a couple of occasions and selling most of my gear, I ended up stumbling across various online studios and downloading free software as a way to tinker with my creativity… basically I knew I wasn’t done yet!

I still had a few cd’s and recording I’d done from the past, some of which I was happy with but some of my best stuff from back in the day fortunately or unfortunately did not resurface so it led me into a new phase- get some better recordings. I was using audacity and a zoom guitar effects pedal with built in drums at this point, this was 2015-16. I’ll just add that prior to this period I had had thousands of pounds worth of gear using Novations synthesizers, loads of outboard hardware including drum modules, effects units etc. I also had official copies of reason 6 and ableton live 8 that I’d re-wire but I had decided to sell all this as I believed that creativity was paramount and all this stuff was just a gimmick as such.

So in mid 2016 I acquired a joblot of apple G5 macs from the job I was working in at the time. I decided I would keep one and beefed it up with the maximum ram which is limited to 8GB. I started on garageband and produced ‘Much Much More’ which I still believe has some good qualities and then later on recorded ‘Right Sound’, although that had a combination of production techniques.

I liked this current set-up using a computer, mic, mixer and instrument if required as it gave me the possibility to do everything I could want to, in terms of possibilities, the next upgrade- Logic Pro 7! I picked up the full boxed version of logic for around £25 including postage from eBay. I’ve been using it ever since and have recorded a collection of tunes on it including ‘Flight of the Butterfly’ and ‘Singing to the Heavens’. I also used it to make my most ambitious project ‘The Salt of the Earth’. This was a huge task that I had no idea what it would involved when I first started the project. I recorded most of the midi, vocals and drum tracks in a fairly short time but to get the levels and the mix sorted was a real wrestling match! Anyway, here’s the opening track ‘The One and the Only’ would love to hear what you think.

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55