Why I'm walking like a penguin todaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube5 years ago


Today I've been walking like a penguin all day as my legs are aching from a hike I did yesterday. I went hiking at Mount Baimao in Taiwan, a 4.9km trail that ascends 720m. In fact there is one section where the ascend is 340m over 700m trail, that's a 45 degree gradient! This is the part where you see me pulling myself up with ropes and scrambling on the ground. Boy! It was hard work.

Gradient is one thing on this trail, height is another thing. As I got near the 1522m summit, I first had to cross a knife edge ridge which drops a few hundreds meters on both sides. It sure was scary, but the view, as you will see from the video is so rewarding. The video is slightly longer than I would like it to be, but I had to include all the relevant parts to show the how gruelling this hike is. Hope you enjoy it


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Posted with @steem-plus

Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Thats was a good place to hike and i hope you recover soon on your sore legs. Next time try to make a little walking practice and sure to wear the right gear on hiking. Thanks for showing us the beauty of that place. Cheers!! 😊😊😊 Take care always @livinguktaiwan

Posted using Partiko Android

I really shouldn't have marched on at the beginning, learnt my lesson real soon!

wow girl, just seeing it gives me asthma because of fatigue ... without a doubt it is quite an adventure to be able to live that experience.

In Venezuela we have great mountains to practice rappel and hiking. The most famous of these is a mountain that is located in the capital city called "Cerro el Avila" ... Good video and greetings from Venezuela.

Thanks @gaborockstar, I would love to go to Venezuela one day, I have seen some posts from other Steemians and it looks like a beautiful country, despite all the economic and political problems. All the best.

You are tired

Posted using Partiko Android

Luckily nothing that a couple days rest won't cure.

It's a very interesting movie!

1 午後7.03.11.jpg

Thanks for the breakfast @ytrphoto!

你真是健康啊! 不過山上的景色真的很漂亮! 爬這一趟很值得吧? 你在拉繩索的時候是誰幫你拍的?

Posted using Partiko Android

到山鋒前一刻,那條樓梯上的景觀真的很棒!

Go pro 夾在身上。所以片段會左搖右擺。今天剪完片後開始頭痛 😥

that is a crazy hike! I mean the view is great but I dunno if i will go up cos of the hard work hahaha. is that filmed with the new gopro?

Well, I didn't know what I was getting myself into!

Yes, that's taken with my GoPro, bought a knock off clip for it so I could clip it on my front. Seems to work ok, apart from it being a bit wobbly as I clipped it on one side and not the center.

The downhill is a bigger killer to the legs, may your quads RIP lol.

Hopefully they will come back to life again tomorrow, I have hardly moved at all today

ohw..sorry to hear about it friend,hope you will get better soon cure is coming for your legs..

Thanks @bien, maybe resting for another day will help

That really looks steep for you to even use a rope! But views look worth it :) Hope you feel better soon.

Thanks @wanderlass. Coming back down was the real killer, I could hardly move afterwards.

Oh my!! That's a serious hike
Ropes and ladders
The peak's beautiful
So worth the Penguin Walk :p

I was worried that i might have taken off a bit more than i can chew, but just about made it 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02