Smile and Walk around my ancestral village in Hong Kong

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


I couple of weeks ago I posted about a traditional poon choi lunch that I had in my ancestral village in Hong Kong. This was hosted by my adorable great nephew ^_^ Kuen Kuen. If you missed that video and post, you can watch it here.
之前我跟大家分享我在香港圍村吃盆菜, 未有看帖子和影片的話,可到這裏看。

After lunch we went for a walk around the village and to see the century old house where my father was born. The adorable toddler led the way and was very excited to see where his great grandfather started life.
盆菜午飯過後,我們帶家中小孩去看爸爸出生的百年老祖屋。 年青的小孩子們都在英國或香港市區生活,未有看過瓦頂老屋。你又有沒有看過呢?今次拍的影片我配上了中文字幕,請大家欣賞。

Smile and Walk is perfect for my video today. Who wouldn't smile when they see the adorable toddler? And I imagine not many people have walked around a traditional village in Hong Kong before. I hope you enjoy it.

This post is my entry to the collaboration contest held by @elizacheng's Make me Smile and @tattoodjay's Wednesday Walk Challenge.

Music credit @kona


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Posted with @steem-plus
Sort:  

That was really interesting to see and you are right, that is an adorable toddler! The house was very narrow. Was your father from a large family? It's pretty amazing how well that beautiful fern is growing up out of the floor! I can't get them to grow that well when I try to grow them in pots! Is that a cooking stove that's on the right side of the room when we look in? I found that neighborhood really fascinating to see. Thank you for showing us.!Tip

That's a good catch Melinda, yes that's the stove on the right hand side! And the bathroom, or rather the partition for the wet room and bucket is on the fron left hand side of the house. You get privacy when you keep the front door open! My father was the eldest of 5 children and I they all lived here till they grew up and left home.

Maybe you need to find a derelict hut to grow your plants, I always seem to find that plants seems to overgrow around derelict buildings!

I can't imagine raising five children in a small space like that. What kind of work did your grandfather do? I really love that the neighboring houses were owned by family members also. What a wonderful community that must have been to grow up in.

It was 1 + 4 really, coz one aunty died (at birth I think) and then my grandfather died quite young smoking too much opium, those were the opium war days! Fun times!

The family were all farmers back in those days, but my gran was a tough old cookie, out lived her husband, a son (my dad), a daughter, a son in law and a daughter in law. But bless her, she was brave and a darling. Took her first overseas trip from HK to UK back in the 60's. She had to take my brother and cousin, two little rascals both under 10 with her when my parents decided that the rest of the family had to emigrate over to UK to join them. She didn't speak a word of English then!

But she learned English? I've found that the older I get the more difficult it is to learn and retain foreign words.
I do not know much about the opium wars, besides just hearing that term used. Have you ever done a post about that bit of history?

She never learnt English apart from remote control, and hello, wasn't really a need as she was always with us.

I don't know that much about the opium war either apart from the fact the Brits imported it to China and got everyone hooked. But I have been planning to write about my gran for some time. Just haven't gone round to do a proper job of it.

If you do write a post about her, make sure I see it! I hate how much I miss here.

Sure will let you know Melinda!!!

Howdy from Texas livinguktaiwan! Well the video started but got stuck and wouldn't play anymore but I assume that it is a good one! lol. I just wanted to say hi and the toddler is very cute! God bless you!

Oh crumbs! Sometimes I find the dTube videos need time to buffer when you open it, and if you start from the beginning again it should play. Either way, appreciate you dropping by @janton!!! Many thanks!

Howdy again livinuktaiwan! that's ok I will try it again, thanks so much for the suggestion!

wawo that is impressive

Can't wait to see this. but it won't play on my phone. I'll look it up later when I get to a different device!

Thanks as always for your support Melinda!

NOw watching your walk and the little boy did for sure make me smile thanks for sharing htis with us

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

You're welcome @tattodjay, glad you enjoyed it!

🎁 Hi @livinguktaiwan! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Felt Like Doing A Trashy Post Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

哇!可爱的權權!我以为你是台湾人。。。原来是香港人啊。。。我只在港剧里看过围村。
谢谢你把散步和微笑一并分享给大家。😘😘😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.903 which ranks you at #1240 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14