Impostor Syndrome (Taking risks, working through fear and being honest)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


My dear friends,

I am trying to truly share the creative process in it's full form like I said I would from my early days on Steem...

Welp, here is my first "close my eyes and submit" videos. Not because I think this video is bad, but because it's sharing the part of the creative process I wish I could just SKIP OVER.

Dealing with the doubts that sneak up, paired with a deep knowing but not necessarily all the practical skills I wish I had, honouring my truth and fear and the all the nuances in between. I said I wanted to share the journey of making my first short film and my life as an artist here on Steem...well here's the less than glamorous part of it all (Still paired with great wine though)!

I'd be lying if I didn't share these moments. At least, I wouldn't be giving the full experience or process of being a creator and artist in a wild world with no guarantees. There are moments we all want to skip over, feelings you want to pretend didn't arise but those are often the ones you need to lean into. What would happen if rather than skipping over them- you said yes. You actually explored them?

I truly believe that's where the growth is. The moments we want to skip over, hold our breath through or ignore are the places that are outside of our "normal". They are outside of our comfort zone. And that my friend is where we get to risk, learn, grow and really do the work to figuring out who we want to be, are meant to be and what lights us up from the inside.

It ain't always pretty, it ain't always easy but I know it's what I need to acknowledge and work through to get to the heart of who I am and the projects I want to make happen. Sometimes I want to believe I have it all figured out but I don't. I am tackling lots of new things in order to grow into the person, partner, friend, human and artist I want to be and it's beautiful, challenging, inspiring and sometimes HARD AS HELL. Thanks for being on the journey with me- the roller coaster! I am so grateful to be surrounded by so many amazing creators here on Steem and look forward to how we all grow, learn and evolve together!

Just keep swimming!!!

xoxo
K


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Without risk we can't achieve anything. I also risked when I did something huge in my life, like leaving my good work in Algeria and traveled completely in Russia to start from 0, I've spend all the money I had that time creating an English club in Russia and it doesn't work well, I risked my other money in other websites where I wanted to make more and lost a lot, I invested in some cryptocurrency and they went down and I lost a lot. Even we are all here keeping steem and believing that it will go to the moon, but who knows what will heppen, we all taking risks. Keep going and work on movie, I believe that you will make it. $4000 is not a big money for investors who will see the value in it. Trust me in crypto world it's really easy to gather. I wish you good luck with it. Let's rock. ☺

Wow! What a crazy story. Yes, Risks are so important-not always easy but the only way to grow ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Having a day just for yourself is awesome !!!

As mentioned in your vlog, I think you took risk of going to Steem creators conference and now you're here.

Embrace your life and take risks!!

💓💓💓

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86