Why Chinese People Don't Like Number 4 ? | DTube Only

in #dtube6 years ago


I know in different countries there are "lucky" and "unlucky" numbers and this is one of the cultural things that seem really interesting to me. When I came to China, I realized people don't use number 4 in elevators. They replace it with 3A. And also 14, 24, 34 - all being replaced with 13A, 23A and 33A etc. Then I asked Chinese friends about it and they explained me 4 in Chinese sounds very close to word - death. That's why Chinese don't like this number. In Ukraine unlucky number is 13. In Italy - 17. Let me know in the comments what are lucky and unlucky numbers in your country please :)
Thank you for watching!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Cool video, I like these blogs from China :D
Keep up the great work @life-in-china!

The only difference between the number 4 四 si(4) and the character for death is the tone 死 si(3)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63