You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving My Videos To Dtube

in #dtube6 years ago

That is why I jumped over to dtube. Youtube demonetized my channel today after being monetized for two years.

Youtube is really screwing up with this, smaller niche content channels are what made that platform special and provides advertisers with very targeted ad placements. Now it is lacking good educational content and content creators force out videos on a schedule that aren't very exciting.

My channel is less than 2K subs and I've had at least 4 or 5 of my ideas taken (almost directly) by larger channels and not given me credit. One channel with 250K+ subs commented on a project that I posted to reddit, saying the idea was cool and he was going to credit me when posting it. He just said, "this idea isn't new, I saw somebody else do this" and that was it. Annoying thing is that I supported and subscribed to his channel when he only had 20 subs.

Sorry for the youtube rant, just need to vent about my channel being demonetized today :)

Sort:  

My channel got demonetized too. Its like YouTube hates small channels. First with the 10K rule, now needing 4,000 hours of watch time and 1,000 subscribers. Have they ever thought that it may be impossible for some channels to get that many subs

My two main concerns are;

  1. It doesn't solve the issue of "bad actors" or inappropriate content. Look at Logan Paul, he keeps posting awful shit and still has monetization. Meanwhile, I haven't received a single strike for copyright claims or (actual claims) of videos "not suitable for advertisers" after two and a half years.

  2. Now that I'm demonetized, what incentive does youtube have to promote (or even suggest) my videos? So, how will I hit their requirements...or how will somebody just starting out get a channel going?

I get that they need to have a place that advertisers want to come to, but content creators (who are the ones bringing in those ad dollars) need to get compensated also. The power needs to be in the hands of content creators, companies are taking unfair advantage of them and reeling in all of the money for their hard work.

YouTube demonetized Logan's channel a while back

From what I've read, his channel was never fully demonetized (specific videos maybe), they just removed him from the "google preferred" platform.

This platform allowed advertisers to place ads on specific high performing videos or target ads based on specific youtuber's videos. There is one maker channel I watch and it is weird to see a pre-roll ad for a welding company and at the end of the video they say, "thank's for watching, now on to Jimmy's video!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67689.07
ETH 3801.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55