Painting Time Lapse - Rembrandt Self-Portrait 1655 Study

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


I find it an interesting process scrutinizing the works of masters to figure out how they painted their works. I look for their underpainting and the layers necessary to build the painting up. I'm not working with their palette, but use some analogous. I'm aiming more to capture the impression of their work, rather than copying it 1:1.

It's a great exercise because it gets me do things differently from my usual approaches. I might even learn something.

Using my camera rig mounted on my easel, it is now easy to document the development of my drawings or paintings. Perhaps this might also help me to figure out how to improve my works. In the least, its fun to look at.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

"Rembrandt 1655", Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas  

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

It's so interesting and really amazing to watch your process recreating the works of master @leoplaw !
How can you put the camera in front of the artwork while painting?

Hi Liv! The camera is suspended over my head. I've started making a video about this and the software I am using.

Wow it's a great idea @leoplaw. But I guess it's not easy right as I always move my head can not keep it still

It's fun to put the videos together.

Very nice painting look is so better.

I always love seeing your arting videos, @leoplaw ! It is amazing how things come together on your canvas <3 The detailing and skin tone are gorgeously done for this one <3 Very lovely study !!!

When the videos are under a minute, it all looks so quick and easy. I'm trying to match my videos with my actual painting speed. =)

This is always such a good exercise and boy do you do it well. I recall doing it many times at school so it is a tried and tested way of learning that is for certain. I love to look and try and figure out how the artists of old made their work, or course they had the added task of making their paints as well, not just stores and online to order them up!

I have mixed my own colours before with linseed etc, it's fun, but I would not want to rely upon it all the time. And of course using digital oils on a digital palette to mix still seems like magic to me, and yet, it often feels so real to blend colours this way.

I saw the amazing time lapse video of this when you posted it on FB.

I'm so happy I live in an age where I can simply purchase my oil colours from a shop and not have to mix them myself. That means more time for painting. =)

Real paint still trumps pixels for me, although I do mess about with pixels. For me, pixels are a tool, not an end product.

I also do something like you, but with music, I try to listen many times to the works of great composers, and I try to play it with that same passion and feeling, sometimes I get a great time
:D

I agree Fabian, there's much to learn from those who've done it all before. Sometimes we get to live in their skin or mind for a little while.

@leoplaw beautiful artwork! Just returning to Steemit from the holidays so catching up on what you're doing on your steemit channel...wow this piece looks awesome!!! Happy New Year 2019! Upvoted!

Hi @miss.kat! I haven't seen you around Steemit for a while. I hope your 2019 is off to a great start. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59