"Dark Pinup" lighting tutorial on set w/ Kitty, @vermillionfox and @wcpublishing!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Good evening, Steemit! I’m giving @dtube another try. I don’t think Safari plays nice with the platform so I’m going to attempt another go with Chrome.

Over the weekend, I finished three provocative shoots for the “Proclivities” chapter of the “Dark Pinup” book I’m doing with @wcpublishing. One of those shoots was with an incredible model from Madison, WI named Kitty. She was a knockout from the moment we began, but during a particularly dark portion of shoot, it occurred to me this would be a perfect opportunity to film a lighting tutorial for Steemit.

Years ago, I discovered a fascinating lighting technique, using the flashlight on an iPhone. What appears as blue light, in combination with limited warm lighting from laps or candles, creatures a beautiful greenish hue. Amplified even more when the technique is used on dark skin tones. The finished photos have made magazines and social media, but I’ve never explained how I do it.

Have a look. I’d love to hear some comments from other photographers on Steemit. Thanks for reading. I post daily. For more photography, tutorials, art and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 341 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5294.67. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @dtube valued at 80.20 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

That makes so much sense with the lighting! I just never would have thought about it basic colour wheel for sure but does it ever give the most beautiful effect especially in the highlights of her face and body. So beautiful.

nice work here.

Nice work .

Simply Superb. Its shows a idea of expression

I really enjoyed watching this video. I felt like I was right there in the room with you!

I enjoyed so many levels of this video. You have a very calm, real, natural, honest and professional demeanor and you shared very candidly rather than being quite guarded and stuck up like most model photographers.

I have only just now found you here on Steemit but am following you now.

Thans for sharing and keep up the great work!

Thanks for that comment @quinneaker. Really, that's so nice to hear. I agree. I hate pretentious, protectionist photographers that never want to share. I'm also glad the tutorial gave you the sense of being there because there's a lot of coordination that goes in to the gimbal operation, mic pick up, then syncing in post for good picture and sound. Details like that tend to go unnoticed most of the time so I'm glad you noticed them. Thanks for following!

Oh Yes I notice for sure!

I have been all over the world, met thousands and thousands of people, lived on Hollywood BLVD and been a part of a lot of productions.

I really like ur game. I am super busy but will be sure to check in again.

Thanks for sharing ur greatness.

Very nice...love the setting a lot 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98