Replacing a Seized Gate Valve: DIY Plumbing

in #dtube5 years ago


While working on our shower mixer, I needed to drain out our water system. The valve in the roof cavity that supplies cold water to the header tank (we have a low pressure system) and the valve that supplies cold water to the hot water cylinder were both seized open. The later one needed immediate action so instead of calling a plumber I decided to carry out this replacement myself. I already had a box of valves that I got from a supplier who upgraded to a new system so the only materials I needed was 2x 20mm to 15mm couplers.

Method
My major concern was working in a confined space and the pipe was hard up against a wall frame. Also the old gate valve was brazed on, therefore a quick replacement is not going to happen. The valve had to be cut away and discarded. I had to find a method that does not require any type of brazing, soldering. After a bit of research using crox nuts with an olive is what I decided to try.

  • the existing copper pipe is 20mm
  • the new ball valve is 15mm female (hence the 20mm to 15mm couplers)
    Initially I was concerned about the restricted water flow by inserting a smaller 15mm diameter ball valve in a 20mm pipeline, bit I figured, it's only a supply feed "INTO" the hot water cylinder so it should be fine.

Thoughts
I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the pipe cutting tool made cutting pipe in a tight spot so much more manageable and I doubt it could be done any way with removing wall linings. I feel quite confident I can handle more plumbing projects.


Song

  • CloZee - Better(norm)

Hardware
Action Camera: Sony FDR-X3000

Software

  • Gimp
  • kdenlive

My External Links
Friend me on Endomondo: https://www.endomondo.com/profile/35696393
Blog: http://taramai.nz (Engrave DAPP: Woohoo)

D.tube Exclusive


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82