You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STOP WITH YOUR FAKE ENGAGEMENT

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Very true.

I have been critical of the people that started the #engagetogrow initiative because I knew it would create a bunch of fake commenters that don't actually care about the videos. I stated this very explicitly in that popular video I made in the past. Even now, to be honest, I don't like #zap or #zapp either. I never use them. I find the use of #zap especially insulting. I have seen people write long comments that seem very thoughtful and then end it off with "#zap" which basically translates to "don't talk to me." I know people like Nathan are on here all day watching videos and reading comments and what not so I understand where he is coming from. It would be far too troublesome to have to have long conversations with everyone. #zap comments may be suitable for him but for the average user, I don't see why you would leave a genuine comment on a video and then put #zap to say that you don't want further engagement with this person.

But there is a positive side to these initiatives. Since this a small community, I do think that it is helpful to write more comments on here than you would write on YouTube or something. I am like you, I rarely ever comment on YouTube videos; heck I barely ever Like videos even if they are really good. I don't know why. Since this community is so small, having so many videos with barely any comments makes this place look like a ghost town. I never write fake comments here, but when I do write a comment, I make sure it isn't some lukewarm automated sounding comment. I do think people appreciate it and I write them because I want to.

We're still figuring things out and it is good that these issues are brought up.

Sort:  

Ergh... I did not know that #zap meant you did not want further engagement. I only make comments for the purpose of getting more engagement. So I guess I should be #zapp ing instead?

Personally speaking, I don't use either. If you want, you can use #zapp because at least it gives a hint to the person that you will be back.

#zap is moreso meant to lesson the burden on the author of the post so they dont NEED to reply, it doesnt mean they dont want you to talk to them :>

#zapp means the person actively is looking for feedback from the author and expects it.

I write #zap because I dont want the author to think they HAVE to reply to me, that is the intent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89