DTube Exclusive Video #80: The "Impossible Challenge"

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Can you go 1 minute without judging someone else? What about 10 minutes? Ok, ok, maybe that's none too difficult, but how about a full day??

The thing is, this ends up being extremely difficult no matter what the timeframe, even at 10 minutes. Thus I dub it the "impossible challenge". And I challenge you to try it out and see for yourself, especially if you believe that it should be easy. That's what I thought at first too, when one of my friends first challenged me. I thought, "well I'm not a bad person, and I try to be fair and understanding of as many people as I can be, so this shouldn't be bad". But...it turns out that the reason it is so difficult is because we have become unaffected by just how often we judge others, for each and every thing that they do which we don't agree with in a certain moment. Remember, you have to reset every time you find yourself judging someone, even if it's only for a split second...and that will likely do you in more than once.

I mentioned that this can be difficult when we are driving...because if someone cuts you off, maybe you judge them in that instant for being not such a great driver, or if they don't let you into the turn lane when you've had your blinker on, then you may judge them for not being an understanding or kind person. The crazy part about the driving example is that we truly know NOTHING about the other person, and are still judging them.

Now, just compound that with all the times we see a stranger out in public and think something of them, just because of what they're wearing, or how they're behaving, or what they're eating. And consider that this is often built on another round of judgement as well. For example, perhaps you see someone eating unhealthy food, and may judge them for that, but wouldn't have done so if you hadn't already judged them for their weight first, which led you to a second round of judgement.

It truly is a vicious cycle, and when you actually become aware of how often we judge others for the things that we would never say out loud, it may truly shock you. However, there's good news. And that is why I say that IT IS POSSIBLE to beat this "impossible challenge".

We simply must be more aware in how we approach, interact, and empathize with the world and the people who surround us. And that awareness will take time and dedication to achieve, but will truly open our eyes and allow us to become more compassionate, more honest ourselves, and less inclined to judge first and then force others to change our minds.

And wouldn't it be a better world for it...if we all undertook this challenge? Well that is why I challenge you...to make this "impossible challenge" not only entirely possible, but a facet of your daily life.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Easy peasy.
While I don't have a problem to detach, I find it not very bemeficial.
You're focusing on the negative but you need to judge to be able to appreciate. There are two sides to a coin. Ying and Yang. Whatever you wanna call it. Judging is important. What we focus on tends to be a problem.
Hope it makes sense the way I convey it.

I agree that sometimes you need to judge to appreciate, because that allows us to judge someone else's good character. I was speaking more in regards to the daily, unconscious judgements that we pass which are not meant to appreciate, since I think those often are a lot more thought out. Also, I don't believe that it is detaching, but rather being more open and aware, but I can see where you are coming from. Thanks for your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97