Epic Adventures in Cambodia!

in #dtube7 years ago

14796165_10154500263325149_957139790_o.jpg

Hello Steem-ians!

My name is KK and I am half-French/Cambodian. I've spent the better part of 15 years living in Cambodia, growing up in a country during a period of drastic transition.

Just a wee-bit of context:

Cambodia is located in South-East Asia bordering Thailand, Laos and Vietnam. It is a new-born country having experienced a devastating genocide and civil war under the Khmer Rouge regime (1975-1979). In 1993, the Paris Peace treaty was signed and the world stepped in to help transition the country back into globalised society.

My family arrived shortly after, in 1997. The country was fresh out of civil strife and the effects still loomed over the city. Vacant streets, run-down buildings, and frequent blackouts were common. However despite the recent events, I have never met a more content, smiling, and life-loving bunch of people.

In my blog I hope to show you an alternative side to life in Cambodia. To show you my life and those of the people around me. I want to share with you the rich culture and history that has shaped such a beautiful country and people. The amazing projects my friends are working on and the incredible places my dirt-bike will take me. So follow to join my great adventure!
14725186_10154500264400149_1741060061_o.jpg

A little about myself:

I studied Economics and Sustainable Development in the Netherlands.

I currently live and work in Cambodia. I work as a consultant for wastewater treatment systems- a topic I never thought I'd enjoy but shit pays ;) I also work as a project manager for a Marketing and consultancy company. But more than anything, I am an avid adventurer! Probably a class 5 adrenaline junkie and all-around idiot! Life is thrilling in the red-zone.

IMG_0374.JPG
Greatly looking forward to joining this community!

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @judgefudge, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Thanks dood!

Hey very cool heritage and backstory! By the way, just click follow on my profile, and we can network! I will follow you back.

Thanks! What kind of econ projects do you work on?

Hi @judgefudge
"Welcome to steemit"Greetings know,
hopefully by joining you can add insight and knowledge for us all through your useful post 😊
, with expertise you have can add insight for readers who use steemit account wherever they are.And do not forget, If you are a person who likes to read short stories and article, you can browse and read and follow on my account at @endatu. There I write it.Thank you, compact greeting always, regards steemers 😊 U5du1LgwqKognuqMRuiKn7cD9rpRbmX.gif

Wow! I lived in Phnom Penh for 6 months, in 2015! Up above La Dolce Vita, on Street 173 (or 172?) Oh what fun we will have, swapping stories... I worked for Opennet while there, teaching English to its managers... You've heard of them, I am sure... Anyway, I am following you now! I look forward to some Ankor Wat pics!!!!!

IMG_5438.JPG

I hoped you enjoyed your time here! You have any plans to come back to visit?

Ill be posting pictures of temples, but hopefully more off the beaten path. There are so many incredible temples lost in the jungles!

Who knows what the future holds?
IMG_5245.JPG

Congratulations @judgefudge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Look forward to reading about Cambodia. I mean more than just Ankor 😃

You got it! Thanks!

Congratulations @judgefudge! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @judgefudge! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49