Here's My Own Rendition of One My Favorite Songs from the 80s by Heart Entitled Alone

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

I have always loved singing since I can remember. As a kid, I used to join singing competitions back in my old province of Agusan del Sur in Mindanao, Philippines. I started competing not because I thought I was any good, or that I wanted to win. Frankly, I was just there for the free giveaways. ^_^

Our family was poor, impoverished. It might be hard to believe, but I competed in those amateur singing contests merely for the consolation prices like, a 20oz bottle of coke and those addictive junk foods, donated by the sponsors, which all contestants automatically received for joining.

To my surprise, though, I was able to bring home more than that and it brought me so much joy to hand over my winnings to my awesome mother and there were times when I was actually able to help put food on the table for our family. You cannot know the kind of joy that I felt, every time I made my mom smile and sang praises about me. She was my biggest fan (bless her wonderful heart) and she encouraged me to pursue my singing, even allowing me to travel far to other provinces and cities to try my luck.

But that was years ago. And life had other plans for me. I will say this, though, that God has been very kind to me and I've been blessed with the kind of life that I never even knew existed. One thing for sure, I will always be grateful for those lovely memories from my childhood. Of a time when there was only music to give me hope and help combat the harsh realities of being a child from a poor family.

I hope you like my rendition of this song and thank you in advance for your comments, upvotes and resteem! Please read my other posts https://steemit.com/life/@joselyn-ism/have-you-been-to-any-of-the-us-national-parks, https://steemit.com/blog/@joselyn-ism/what-happened-to-customer-service-how-may-i-help-you!

Disclaimer: All contents and materials used in this post are my own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joselyn-ism! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @joselyn-ism! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55