So you wanna be an actor, huh? Let's talk about REJECTION.

in #dtube6 years ago


Hi everyone, I created this series for aspiring actors or creatives to not only share an inside look but also to instill a hope in that achieving your dreams within this industry is very possible. Who am I? My name is John Gabriel, and I've been pursuing this career for the last 10 years and actually working as a full-time actor for the last five. Throughout my career, I've auditioned hundreds of times, had callbacks, screen tests, etc). I've booked lots of roles (national commercials, co-stars, guest-stars, pilot, films, etc). I've also been trained from several of the top acting coaches in Los Angeles. Now I want to share all of this information with you. If I can answer any questions you may have---just let me know. This very first video will deal with REJECTION. https://www.imdb.com/name/nm2700452/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Step out of the norm and follow your dreams in anything vaguely creative and rejection is the name of the game.

I am a writer/artist/lightworker and my experience is pretty similar to yours.

And if I were to really talk about rejection being a lightworker sets one up for major rejection and ridicule!

:)

We have to be true to ourselves and follow our passion and, as you say, cultivate a thick skin.

I wish you well on your path.

xox

Absolutely! We have but one shot in this life---MAKE IT COUNT! Rejection doesn't matter in the big scheme of things. You learn things about yourself in those moments...namely that you're still living...still breathing. Who cares if one, ten, or one-hundred people don't "get" what it is that you are creating. It's not for them--it's for you. Thanks for the comment, I wish you the best on your journey as well.

My son is 15 and loves acting. He suffers from anxiety and has very low self esteem but when he acts he becomes a totally different person. He performs in the local youth theatre. This is his second year. Last year he was part of the chorus. He didn't mix with anyone and kept to himself. This year he auditioned for one of the lead roles. He won his audition and blew everyone away. The directors and other cast members said they were surprised at how good he was. He plays a comedic character and is very animated. The total opposite to what he is in real life when around others. I asked him why he is so different when acting. He said it's because he doesn't have to be himself, he becomes someone else. He is slowly becoming more confident being around the other cast members now. Acting has helped my son in so many ways and I'm very grateful for that. I'm not sure if he wants a career in acting. But any advice is wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing. Very grateful.

HI! That's fantastic news about your son. First off tell him congrats from me! It's actually quite amusing how many actors are shy and somewhat introverted when not on stage--it's more common than you might think. Acting does provide somewhat of an escape, and it's fun to be in someone else's skin for a moment. It sounds as if your son has a gift and true talent. If he really enjoys what he's doing, then maybe he will decide to put his heart and soul into cultivating and having a career one day. His heart and soul is exactly what it will take to sustain himself. I wish him and your family much success and a little luck! thanks for reaching out.

Thank you! I'm sure he'll be very excited to read such encouraging words from such a great actor.

Congratulations @johngabriel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82