I WENT FOR A WHISKEY MENTORSHIP/ JAMESON BLACK BARREL

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

a2.jpg


(click on linked photo to watch video)

Twice Charred

As a wine & spirits journalist, part of my job involves going for tasting and mentorships. The idea is to completely decipher what a brand is all about so that when I write a piece abut it, I now what I am talking about.
On this day, we were tasting the Jameson Black Barrel which was a new expression in our market. The mantra was triple distilled, twice charred.

Charring is an age-old method for invigorating barrels to intensify the taste. Jameson Black Barrel is our tribute to our coopers, who painstakingly give their bourbon barrels an additional charring to reveal their untold richness and complexity. Because every barrel contains secrets; the trick is coaxing them out.

Tasting notes

Nose: There were hints of butterscotch, honey and toffee.
Taste: Nuts and vanilla.
It was smooth with an exciting finish.
I love smoky and flavourful whiskies. In fact the more smoky it is, the better.

We were at Caramel Restaurant and Lounge in ABC Place Westlands, Nairobi. There was an amazing sunset for me to catch this killer photo.
a4.jpg

We then tried the whiskey with some foods. We paired it with some spicy chicken wings and burgers. The science of food pairings is such that flavourful foods should go with flavourful whisk(e)ys.

a8.jpg

We did a comparative tasting where we compared Irish Whiskey with Scotch and Bourbon.

a3.jpg

We also learned about the whiskey making process and even saw and touched some ingredients. I got so excited because that is as close as I got to a distillery. I have gone to many wineries but I want to visit a distillery soon.

a1.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Steemit_In_Kenya.png

boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe

Steemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks friend.

This is good @jeanwandimi, maybe one day, you will have your own wine company?😁😁

Actually, that is the dream. Thanks :)

Now we are talking! I want this 😄

haha. Thanks for stopping by.

I like this!

Thanks friend.

That looks like a whole ton of fun. Though, I am curious about the
smokiness in there. Is the second charring of the bourbon barrel enough to give that or is it coming from some other place?
Anyway, I loved the video. It's got me think I should start going to tasting more.

Hey @deadsparrow The second charring gives it an even more smoky taste/ smell. It already has the flavour only that it gets accentuated.

In fact, we were having a discussion about how the charring needs to be uniform to maintain the standards. So they char using flame torches for the same time at the same temparature. How fascinating.

Amazing post and great pictures too..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59