Here is how: Lets make our Steem Forest.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


We are back planting trees after a little time away.

Today I replaced two native trees that had unfortunately died off in the last year. Over 20 others are still going. It is the rainy season here in Lobitos, Peru. Taking advantage of the rain, these tree saplings will have the best chance of taking to their new homes.

There is far too much pressure on the natural environment. Reforesting with Steem with an easy upvote is a way to offset this pressure. We all know our blockchain consumes energy to create maintain and grow. The planting of trees in areas in most of need of reforestation goes a step further.

This week I went to see @ecoswell, whom we have worked on previous plantings and got some fresh native tree saplings. @ecoswell is an operational not for profit working in Lobitos, Peru. One of their main drivers is local reforestation. They have plant hundreds and hundreds of trees. As I do more vlogs, I will be exchanging Steem/SBD for tree saplings. They developed facilities and systems to produce saplings, you upvote, then we exchange and trees are planted.

All Steem and/ or SBD for this post will be directed to @steemforest . The @steemforest handle is dedicated to the project. It's purpose is:

“Through Steem, to plant at least 1 million trees and foster broader biosphere consciousness.”

It started with planting one native tree in Northern Peru by @intrepidsurfer. The SBD rewards earned from posting on Steemit enabled us to do so. The response was phenomenal on Steemit and tree planting quickly up ticked in pace. It was quickly understood this movement is bigger than just one person. It involves everyone and Steem is the tool that enables this.

Read more in detail here:

https://steemit.com/steemforest/@steemforest/how-to-reforest-the-world-it-s-remarkably-simple

I hope you can join us weekly on the #steemforest tag to follow us and see your little trees being planted.

Thank you,

@intrepidsurfer

Plant a seed and a forest will grow. Our Steem forest.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

2nd.jpg
One of the two trees planted today.

Living in a city and in a condo... well, I just want to say thank you ;D

Oh I know that feeling. It was my pleasure to plant these today and thank you. Plenty more trees to be planted :)

Of course, I resteemed this nice piece of motivation!

I like the idea of that project and I am giving my commitment to plant some trees in some months and I will document this on video.

In my own garden this is unfortunately not possible (planting trees is basically almost forbidden within the community guidelines) buuuuut I can and I will plant some trees in other areas around the city. Give me some time (because we have winter^^) and you will see a video of me.

Keep going your great encouragement and inspirational videos/projects!

You are a big win for our blockchain and nature :)

Peace!

Hey @tibfox thank you for the support. That is unfortunate you are told you can't plant trees. I am sure like you say, plenty of other places to replant. @steemforest will soon reboot a project were Steem users can earn Steem/SBD for planting trees. This for our Steem forest.

I applaud your efforts and the many others like you! We have spent years ruining Mother Earth, so we must do whatever we can to save her.

I am committed to doing my part. Thank you for your efforts!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank you for your support @dswigle Just one tree at a time for now, but every little helps. Next week we will plant more and all thanks to the Steem community.

That is the way! One tree at a time and some day, there will be another forest! Good luck!!

Thank you @interpridsurfer! Always happy to oblige and to know that these babies will have a happy home. With the recent rains here, the Zion Sunset Reforestation Site at Lobitos planted in June last year is just thriving amazingly! As are all the rest of the native and medicinal trees we have propagated throughout Lobitos and Piedritas. More awesomeness still to come. @steemforest full steam ahead!

My pleasure. I will try and catch some sunset light to film a little at Zion Sunset Reforestation. Start collecting clips for next week's Steem forest post.

That is amazing thing that our upvotes can plant a trees ! Amazing !

I totally agree and a worthy initiative. Thank you for your support.

RESTEEMED What a great project - I highly commend your efforts. I will upvote this after 15 minutes as it is my understanding that votes given before then go to the community prize pool and not to the author and I want you to get it so you can plant the most trees!
I also like to plant trees regularly - in the rainforest in Costa Rica you can hear and see trees fall almost ona daily basis especially in the rainy season so I love to replant as many as possible and I also like to ensure they are fruit providing trees to provide the most food for humans and animals alike ❤️🦋🌈🌴💛🍀

Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for your support. I am happy to hear that you plant trees too. A great feeling isn't it. You would think those rain forest trees would have deeper roots. With @steemforest before, we rewarded people in Steem/SBD for planting a tree and blogging about it. This should hopefully start up again soon.

Wow really it's a great project

It is and very simple.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Oh wow, thank you so much @pennsif for doing that. Much appreciated.

🎁 Hi @intrepidsurfer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday, Vacation Style Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43