A View Into Today’s Farming - Ditching

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Ditching is an important part of farming here in the valley. The fields often flood during the spring melt. In order to get into the fields to plant as soon as possible, the fields must be prepared during the prior fall. Proper ditching helps water drain effectively and quickly(but obviously not too quickly.)

Enjoy the video and a look into today’s farming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm guessing just like crop rotation there is a ditch digging rotation too?

Hm, not necessarily. They pretty much just work on whichever ditches need work. They work on it up until snowfall. Once they have all the ditches worked out to how they like them, the following years won’t require so much work.

well well well...hope you didn't pull something strainin to get this vieo done, had to have taken days of writing and research.
but yay Chester! lol. the star!
I didn't even know ya'll had to do that up there. And everyone owns a big scraper like that?

Ha! Nope, I just listen to my husband. Tells me everything I need to know..just as long as he isn’t baffling me with bull lol.
Yup, you should see our yard in the spring! Now, if only we collected that water for storage..
I’m not sure if everyone has a scraper, but a lot do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72