DTube's Awesome: But What Do You Want To Watch?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Up until recently, I had resigned myself to the fact that I would never make videos again. I thought I'd done my time as a content creator on YouTube, and I shrugged any sense of loss as misplaced nostalgia.

I simply never imagined a scenario where an alternative to YouTube would actually capture my imagination to the point where it reignited my love of making videos.

jakob-owens-274338.jpg
Photo: Unsplash

So, when my partner @michaelhebo introduced me to Steemit and DTube, I was caught completely off guard by just how excited I was to make content, and be part of an online community again.

In my gung-ho excitement to embrace these new platforms, I also want to transition from watching videos on YouTube, to DTube.

However, the content I consume are videos about responsible travel, zero waste and minimalism, and ethical fashion. My yoga practice consists, almost exclusively of online yoga classes hosted by... YouTube. (There's also a large slice of my digital diet that is unashamedly carved out for cat videos).

mc-jefferson-agloro-186549.jpg
Photo: Unsplash

DTube and Steemit are already excellent resources from information on cryptocurrencies, but as more people from all over the world flock to the platform, I will be keenly watching to see if the content diversifies in a significant way. What genres will flourish? Essentially, what do we, as a community want to watch?

In reference to my most recent video - if we are to boycott YouTube, will the content of DTube (in time) grow to be as diverse and rich as what people have come to expect from YouTube?

So tell me, fellow Steemians,

What do YOU want to watch?

To kick off the discussion, here's my wish list (in no particular order):

  • Documentaries
  • Yoga Classes
  • How To Tutorials
  • Music Videos
  • Animal Videos

What's on your wishlist? Do you think that DTube's content will rival of YouTube's in future?

Sort:  

True. Youtube is going to bleed out support as it clamps on those just trying to make fair and honest content yet struggle as the changes and algorithm causes them to suffer unjustly but let certain people to suceed despite the crap and frankly disgusting, over the top and edgy videoes to gain views. I.e. logan paul
Dtube will surpass youtube if youtube keeps going down its path of attempting to be more controlling of who they do and dont approve of and turn a blind eye plus won't lift a finger to those clearly explotting it system and when the popular youtubers are clearly breaking their community guidelines but smaller youtubers or politically incorrect channels (anti feminist/anti sjw and right leaning political channels) get punished endlessly just for small things such swearing or bigger things such as a different viewpoint to mainstream views). To expand on that they will not help those who are struggling just make a living off youtube content which takes a lot of time almost equal to a full time job but pays less than a minimum wage job for those already not well off and with huge presences on the internet via other means of merch and mainstream media shows. I dont nessecarily hate some big youtubers and enjoy the content produced such as dan and phil and thatcher joe but others like the paul brothers and onision make money off exploting sensitive issues and damaging their young teenage (mostly female audience).
Youtube no longer has an equal playing field for all content creators so it is good to healthy competition to shake up the monopoly youtube has on content seen on the internet.
Im just happy if the content doesnt include drama of any kind.

Totally! Have you looked into the James Damore lawsuit at all? I think it's a pretty scary insight into how Google operates

Yes i did. Its worrying that a company can do that to its own employees and then they can do it to anyone using their services or work for them.

I share your hope about the future of Steemit/Dtube being as diverse and enjoyable as YouTube but without the BS and trolls. There's so many niches to fill. You have put the idea in my head for making instructional yoga vids...!

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

6184

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35