Te Mata Peak, Havelock North, New Zealand

in #dtube5 years ago


Wow, what a beautiful sight.

Found in the Hawke's Bay region of the north island of New Zealand, Te Mata is a beautiful natural peak, accessible and free for the public to visit.

Tourists, nature enthusiasts, dog-walkers, joggers and paragliders alike visit this peak to take in the spectacular views.

Reaching a maximum elevation of 399m, you really can see for miles around you in every direction. On a clear day it’s possible to see the local vineyards, the neighbouring towns and houses, and even the ocean in the distance.

Visiting for the second time in two days, I took my DJI Spark to the top of the ridge and filmed as much footage as the windy weather would allow.

In this video you'll see Part I of the footage and hopefully it'll give a sense of the beauty of the area, with uninterrupted hills spreading as far as the eye can see. Making the most of the Spark’s features (tripod mode, rocket mode, spiral mode to name a few), I played around with it as much as I could as it had been several weeks since I’d flown it in earnest.

What stunned me was the peace and sense of calm experienced when at the top of the peak. Nature, almost unadulterated, has stood the test of time and shown just how beautiful it can be. Even more surprising, I found, was that I was shown rocks that included sea shells in them. These served as a snapshot of time gone by when the very same rock would have been deep under the sea. Magical, eh?

As usual, 50% of ALL digital earnings (steem, bitcoin, ether) from the goodwithtravels project will be donated to good causes and charities. By supporting the blog, you're supporting these good causes, so please do get behind us and upvote, resteem and follow.

Peace,

Franck


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice work, my cousin is headed to New Zealand for a visit right now. Good to see some additional views of the country

Lucky them, @mdf-365 ! It’s a beautiful country and one that I am yet to see most of.
Thanks for the feedback on the vid, glad you liked it and I hope to edit a few more when I get the chance.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=goodwithtravels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=muh47sc0


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @goodwithtravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh my jesus christ, those roads scream for a bicycle trip!

They definitely do! Check out my teaser clip on DTube from a couple of days ago; I asked a mountain biker if I could film him trialling a run.

We saw guys getting a lift to the top and bombing it down on their mountain bikes; the trails looked incredible!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Freaking awesome, I should cycle to Asia one day and somehow get there \o\

Loads of epic footage your must be creating.

Wow! Beautiful landscape and scenery. New Zealand looks so amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79