I'm Not Sure If I'm Ready For "ETERNITY" (D-TUBE)

in #dtube7 years ago

I'm a big fan of D-Tube's concept. It feels like a very natural evolution of the current social media landscape. I'd love to start sharing everything I make On D-Tube. Heck, it could even lead to financial stability given the fact that I'm going 100% in on video content.

Me-with-camera-gear-(make-new-pic!)-.jpg

The only thing that I'm not so sure about is the fact that I cant delete the content. I feel like I'm about to get a lot of tattoo's. Like, on a weekly base. You feel me?

I truly believe in my current project, and I would not mind at all if the futurefood.io project would spin off into the world wide web's eternal hemisphere. The thing is that in many of my video's my son is present. Currently, he is nine years of age, and he trusts me. That said I do show him all the video's before they go online.

Cant_Delete.jpg

Dtube delete video?

Let's jump eight years into the future. My son is now 17. His current lifestyle does not allow for him to be associated with his dad's online multimedia project. And who's to blame him? He grew up in a time where social media is just an extension of you IRL existence.

Currently, all my video's are hosted on YouTube meaning my son could easily ask me to remove certain video's he simply does not vibe with anymore.

D-Tube does not offer this option.

IMG_0034.jpg

I'm not addressing this topic because I think D-Tube should change. As far as my knowledge of blockchain goes I don't think its possible to even go down that path. What intrigues me is the fact that, if Steemit/D-Tube would become more dominant players in the social media landscape we'll be looking at a totally different online environment. You'd really have to think about what it is you are going to post.

I think that currently, the majority of the people would dislike the idea of not being in total control of your online identity. Screwing up is part of being a human, right?

On the other hand, we've seen that with the rise of social media people start to show their actual faces. Shit can get real tense and gnarly. A great example is the harshness difference between Reddit and Instagram. Reddit can be brutal while Instrgam is more like a walk in a Sunday spring park. Of course, it's not that black and white. But you get my point, right?

I've not really figured out what kind of social media Steemit and D-Tube are. With a lot of people using on the bloom avatar names, it reminds me of Reddit. At the same time, there is a sense of community that I find pretty unique and can't really compare to anything else in the western social media landscape.

Perhaps that has something to do with the financial incentive system build into Steemit.

IMG_0259-2.jpg

This is my two cents on the whole thing which made me realize that I'm not in any position to decide how my son's online identity should be shaped. Perhaps I'm oldfashioned? I'd love to hear from other parents how they see the above written and how you act upon it.

Have a great day 🤓✌️


🌐 S O C I A L S
◆ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/futurefooddocumentary
◆ Steemit: https://steemit.com/@futurefood
◆ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pg/futurefood.io
◆ YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/FutureFood_io
◆ Twitter: https://twitter.com/futurefood_io
◆ Website: https://www.futurefood.io/


_1.jpg

📌 I don't have a medical background. I am not a nutritionist. I'm an autodidact and obtain all my knowledge through personal research. I also value anecdotal evidence. None of the information I provide should be viewed as a guideline or advice. #DYOR

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58