Prepping wood ash for annealing steel *cough cough*

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Moving onto the next step in my new knife making adventure is prepping to anneal the steel. To keep everything simple and basic I will explain it without any real in depth lingo haha.

So annealing is the process of heating and cooling that will leave the steel softer, and easier to work. This is done through heating it very hot and then letting it cool slowly over time. If it cools to quickly you can be in the same place that you started, with hard steel.

So today I worked through a gift that i have received. I met someone that let me come and pick up a full barrel of wood ash from their fire place!!!

This may not sound like much, but it is a big deal. For me first off...it is free, and it is what I am used to using. So this will act as an insulator to keep the steel warm as it cools down. I am hoping to leave the hot pieces in this ash for a day or two. I'm not big into rushing a process...and I have tried to work hard steel before haha.

So my videos documenting this journey is not for someone that wants to know the complicated details, but more for the would be creator. The person that wants to try to make a knife and just needs some times. The person that wants to try blacksmithing and may be looking for some times and options.

I look forward to sharing more with you all as I continue toward making some brand new custom blades! Stay tuned because I believe that next up will be cutting and heating the steel to start the annealing process!

Be well
~The Yeti

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint

https://twitter.com/the_alpha_yeti

https://www.instagram.com/thealphayeti/


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

I really do not understand what is your daily job? Is it a farmer or something else?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there! You could say I am a farmer haha. My family and I are nomads....we are currently helping a farmer. Daily I am a content creator, farm hand, knife maker.

Hi @freedompoint, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thank you for using the #diy tag. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote with our @build-it.curator account. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine and Steem Leo's exchange

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself.

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62