How to light a kerosene heater

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Thanks for joining me for another DIY coming to you from the farm here in Northern Michigan. Life is plenty cold here, and it is high time that I fire up this old kerosene heater I found.

That's right, I found it. Funny story about that, it has been in the shop the whole time. When we first got here, the shop was a mess. It didn't even actually resemble a shop at all. Just a mess.

So while getting everything all sorted out, I found this kerosene heater, and just sat it to the side. I didn't think much of it. I would just slide it around out of my way when I needed to.

It didn't hit me until I saw someone else online talking about having a kerosene heater in their shop. It was like a ton of bricks. From that moment I knew I had to get this thing going. I have been making knives until my fingers and toes are numb!

Ok, So for the DIY you will really have to watch the video, but for a summary..here goes....

Make sure that everything looks to be in operating order. A thorough visual inspection should really turn up if there is any issue.

Check the wick and make sure that it is functioning properly. The settings are really simple...it is high and lo. So make sure that the wick moves like it should up and down as it should.

Once you have decided that everything is good and ready to go it is time to let 'er rip tater chip. Most units have a starter lever. It is something that you push down and had an electric lighter that will spark it. In my case it is old D batteries and they look rough. So I will be manually lighting mine.

Knowing that it burns but doesn't explode is pretty relieving. If you are nervous make sure that you have some way to extinguish the fire.....hhmm I wonder if there is a special product for that.....

Anyway, once you have established that the rig is all ready and you are all out of excuses spark it up!

The wick will start to burn where you light it and then it will creep around the rest of the wick. As you are manually holding it up you may want to keep it up for just a minute to let the air help the flame get going.

Once it is all lit it will start to come to life. Just let it burn and eventually all of the wick with fill up with fuel and you will be off and running.

I wish you luck with your adventure. I got this old thing going and I think it will serve me well..and I will get the added bonus of smelling like it when I come back inside the house.

Make sure to hit that follow or subscribe, and stay tuned for what is ahead!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Awesome!

Everyone needs to know how to do this :)

Hello my friend! :D

Kerosene lanterns and heaters are great. We only have the former for now, and they get used whenever the power goes out, so we have some light. :D Thankfully we've only had to use them once so far this winter. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

That's awesome. We aren't too familiar with kerosene. I'll tell you what though, I am a wood heat person for sure. I would prefer a wood stove any day! haha

Kerosene is a great fuel, getting the kerosene lamps lit is my handsome husbands job, he makes sure the reservoir is full, the wicks are trimmed, and everything's ready to go for the next time we use them after we use them, thankfully. :D

I'm a wood stove heat gal myself, I'm so glad that we've got our wood stove, its kept us toasty for the past 12 years and will continue to do so for years to come, Lord willing, of course. :D

God bless you and yours. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69