How to: Make Counter Top/Mason Jar Sauerkraut

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


In today's How To I am going to talk about sauerkraut. I'm not sure how many of you love, or even like sauerkraut, and that is ok. We started making this countertop or mason jar sauerkraut several years ago, and today I want to share it with you.

Like all of my how to videos, I enjoy sharing my knowledge and talking crap. Today's video has no lack of that. There are a couple of things that you will need to put this beautiful mess together...

cabbage
salt (Himalayan Pink if you have it)
large mixing bowl
large jar
smaller jar that fits into the mouth of the large jar, with a lid
towel
rubber band

Now you have the basics it is time to get into it.

I start by cutting up the cabbage into strips. You can do this with a knife or a grater. I used the grater which gives me smaller pieces that are more consistent in size.

I add all of the cabbage to the mixing bowl and add some salt. I don't really have a salt measurement because the cabbages are always a different size. So add some salt and start mixing. I have found that using my hands to mix is the best way. Just one hand, so I always have a clean hand to do other things with.

You will notice that the cabbage is beginning to break down, and it will feel different and there will be liquid in the bottom of the bowl. If it is not breaking down add some more salt and repeat the process.

Once the cabbage is felling "softer" and you can see the liquid in the bowl, it is time to add it to the jar. I use my hand to fill the jar, and then use my fingers and fist to pack it down. You will notice that the liquid is filling the jar and should be up above the shredded cabbage.

Take a large outer cabbage leaf and put it in the jar on top of the shreds. This will act as a barrier and hold the shredded cabbage down. It will also make a bit of a platform to hold the smaller jar.

Fill the smaller jar up to the very top with water and put the lid on. This will act as the weight that holds the cabbage down. Slide the jar into the opening of the larger jar and set it on the cabbage leaf. You will start to see bubbles and foam being pushed to the top. This is the beginning of the lacto-fermentation. This is caused by the Lactobacillus that is on the outside of the cabbage. Mixed with the salt it will begin the fermentation process.

-Lactobacillus is a type of bacteria. There are lots of different species of lactobacillus bacteria. These are "friendly" bacteria that normally live in our digestive, urinary, and genital systems without causing disease. Lactobacillus is also in some fermented foods like yogurt and in dietary supplements -WebMD

  • Lacto-fermentation is the process by which bacteria break down the sugars in foods and form lactic acid. Lacto-fermented foods include yogurt, sauerkraut, kimchi, and pickles -healthline.com

After you have the small jar in place there should be a gap around the jar that will allow air to move through. Place the towel over the top of both jars and then use the rubberband to hold it in place. This will allows gases to freely move without other things getting into the sauerkraut.

You can put this on your counter, in a cellar or basement. Somewhere that is about 55 degress F is the best. It will allow the sauerkraut to do it's thing without being too warm.

I hope you all have enjoyed this little how to, and I hope you give sauerkraut a chance. It may not change your life, but it sure will change your guts!

Be well
~The Yeti

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint

https://twitter.com/the_alpha_yeti

https://www.instagram.com/thealphayeti/


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Hello my friend! :D

I'm not much of a sauerkraut fan, but this was quite interesting. :D Thanks for sharing. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Aww thank you. Sauerkraut is an acquired taste for sure. It is so good for our guts toi

You're welcome. :D I'll take your word for it, both as an acquired taste and good for my guts, I'm not sure I'd ever acquire that particular taste in my future. :D LOL. :D

Thankfully you can enjoy it anytime you feel like making more. :D

God bless you and yours. :D

I LOVE homemade sauerkraut so much! good how to!

Hey! Thank you. Nice to hear from you! If you think it is good. Want to mention it on your youtube cough cough wink wink nudge nudge hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64