Celebrating the art of it all!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Today is a big day for me...I am mailing out the first knife from my new shop. That's right I am on the go and hitting up the post office to send out this beautiful piece to a lucky buyer.

When it comes to the art of it all, that is what I am celebrating. I was having this talk the other day with one of my kids. When it comes to creating, it is all in the eye of the creator. So others may not enjoy what you are creating, but as long as you like it that is all that matters.

When a knife build starts to come together sometimes your "plan" changes. I can start with a drawing and then end up with something that kind of looks like the drawing. This often happens with repurposed steel because you don't really know what to expect until you dig into it.

That is what has happened with this knife. It started as an order for a smaller pocket knife. Something that can be worn in a sheath inside of a pocket. Over a couple of days the buyer changed the size of the knife and I had to change the material. That's where this whole vlog is coming from.

The knife ended up not being exactly what he wanted because of the material that the blade was made of. The look wasn't quite ideal for him, but that is where it all happened....he bought the first knife and is still ordering the other.

I have a motto that every knife has a hand. If I keep creating, they will keep making people happy. It doesn't really matter about trying to make something perfect as long as it does what you want.

In my case I like to make sure that the science of it all is right. I like to make sure that the metal, the heat treat, and performance of the blade is correct. I also make sure that the epoxy and how everything attaches is correct. Other than that...I let it all come together.

I love the art of it all. I love to dig in and see what happens. I hope this vlog finds you in a place where you are excited to go out and create something awesome.

P.S. Stacie D was like a ninja and ordered some steel for me without me know! I have some amazing steel that should be here tomorrow, and it should help create some amazing things!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint https://twitter.com/the_alpha_yeti

https://www.instagram.com/thealphayeti/


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

As Nietzsche said: "life must be lived as a work of art"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51