Death On The Homestead

in #dtube5 years ago


Yesterday we had a death on the homestead. Well, it is on the farm, but it is pretty much the same.

warning If you get triggered by opinions that don't match your own, please don't read on or watch.

I had an interesting experience yesterday. The pop door on the chicken coop had fallen and pretty much killed a chicken. It was still alive, but needed to be dispatched. There was no way it was going to survive, and I am sure it was in some pain.

Because I have grown to a different place in my life, I decided that if there were someone else that would do it...that is the better option for me.

Someone else stepped in to handle it, but they were unsure. When they did it..it didn't kill the chicken..so I had to act quickly and do it.

The process is never easy, nor should it be. A common misconception about living as a "homesteader" or self reliant individual, is that killing is all part of it. I don't agree. It is often said that the more you do it the easier it becomes....why would we want to get used to killing.

In this video, to be clear, I do not speak against people that feel the need to kill and eat animals...I speak against the idea that killing has to be a part of it, or that it should become easier with volume.

I may not be 100% self sufficient, and I have to use the grocery store, but that wouldn't change unless I had a larger garden and greenhouse.

Sometimes we all have to make hard choices. Sometimes we make them without even knowing.

Be well.
~The Yeti


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

before the flood we was not so posed to eat meat. but I believe after the flood the human body could no longer be sustainable under a vegan diet. no offense just my personal opinion.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43