You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY WAY TO GO GREENER FAILED – FOR NOW! | D.tube talk#200

in #dtube5 years ago

We learn as long as we live and keep trying new things @hauptmann, and yeah you do need way bigger solarpanel to charge that.

Let's do the math, so you have a 24 AH (24000mAH) battery and since it's USB it's 5 Volts, so that means 5x24 = 120 WH (Watt hours), so you can charge it fully for 12 hours in full sunshine with a 10 Watt solarpanel, or 6 hours with a 20 watt one, but you do need some margin there to account for anything but full sunshine so add about 50% extra, and there you have it, you do also need to take into account at what level the powerbank is able to receive it.

Have an awesome day ahead.

Sort:  

Wrong. They usually have a 3.7V with a boost converter to 5V. So it's around 89WH. The solar panel included in this power bank seems to be around 1W given it's size. To you would need about 90hours of full sunshine to charge it. Not so bad anyway if you are in a remote area and want to power maybe an e-reader and some sporadic phone usage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry my mistake, the input is 5 Volts though, so only the watthours for the powerbank has to be adjusted, so it's 9 hours at 10 watts input and 4.5 hours at 20 watts, thanks for correcting me.

Hey @hueso, thank you so much for bringing in your knowledge and making the math even more precise. I am very blessed having guys like you here in my comment section, who are interacting with so much valuable feedback on my content. Once again, thank you and best greeting to Buenos Aires from Barcelona

Posted using Partiko Android

Wooooow I am amazed! Thank you so much @flaxz for making the math for me. I would have never know as my technical knowledge is very basic. Thank you so much, now I know what I have to look for getting the right solar panel for my green energy mission. Best greetings from Barcelona

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @hauptmann, do also take note of the input Ampere on the powerbank, if it's 2,1 A then at 5 V you will have a max input of 10,5 W.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66